Ghana Communication Technology University Bill, 2019

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

Section

Ghana Communication Technology University

- 1. Establishment of the Ghana Communication Technology University
- 2. Status of the University
- 3. Aims of the University
- 4. Campuses of the University
- 5. Award of degrees

Administration

- 6. The University Council
- 7. Functions of the Council
- 8. Establishment of committees
- 9. Tenure of office of members of the Council
- 10. Meetings of the Council
- 11. Disclosure of interest
- 12. Allowances
- 13. General powers of the Council
- 14. Principal Officers of the University
- 15. Chancellor
- 16. Vacancy in the Office of the Chancellor
- 17. Vice Chancellor of the University
- 18. Vacancy in the Office of the Vice Chancellor
- 19. Pro Vice-Chancellor of the University
- 20. Registrar of the University
- 21. Director of Finance
- 22. Appointment of academic, administrative and other staff
- 23. Remuneration and pension of staff of University
- 24. Academic Board
- 25. Composition of the Academic Board
- 26. Functions of the Academic Board
- 27. Internal organisation of the University
- 28. Student governance
- 29. Statutes of the University
- 30. Procedure for enacting Statutes
- 31. Convocation
- 32. Congregation

Ghana Communication Technology University Bill, 2019

Financial Matters

- 33. Funds of the University
- 34. Management of the finances of the University
- 35. Internal Audit Unit
- 36. Accounts and audit
- 37. Annual report and other reports
- 38. Exemption from taxes, duties and other charges

Miscellaneous Matters

- 39. Anti-discrimination
- 40. Matriculation
- 41. Dispute settlement
- 42. Interpretation
- 43. Transitional provisions

SCHEDULE

Oath of Office

Ghana Communication Technology University Bill, 2019



ENTITLED

GHANA COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY UNIVERSITY ACT, 2019

AN ACT to establish the Ghana Communication Technology University as a Public Tertiary Institution and to provide for related matters.

PASSED by Parliament and assented to by the President:

Ghana Communication Technology University

Establishment of the Ghana Communication Technology University

1. (1) There is established by this Act, a body corporate with perpetual succession to be known as the Ghana Communication Technology University, referred to in this Act as "the University".

(2) The University may, for the performance of its functions, acquire and hold movable and immovable property, dispose of property and enter into a contract or other transaction that relates to the aims of the University.

(3) The University may generate revenue and invest the revenue for the promotion of excellence in teaching, research and community service. (4) Where there is a hindrance to the acquisition of property, the property may be acquired for the University under the State Lands Act, 1962 (Act 125) and the costs shall be borne by the University.

Status of the University

2. (1) The University shall have financial autonomy subject to this Act.

(2) In order to promote equitable access, the University shall charge reasonable fees as determined by the Council in consultation with the Minister.

Aims of the University

3. The aims of the University are to provide a viable world class centre for higher education in technology education and to undertake research in accordance with the following principles:

- (a) promote education, training and capacity building in various academic disciplines;
- *(b)* provide global consultancy services to both the private sector and the public sector;
- (c) promote basic and applied research; and
- (d) create an entrepreneurial environment that will support innovation and product incubation development while fostering university industry linkages.

Campuses of the University

4. (1) The University shall establish the main campus of the University at Tesano, Accra.

(2) The University shall establish other campuses in Koforidua, Ho, Takoradi, Kumasi and any other place as the Council may determine.

Award of degrees

5. (1) The University shall have the power to award its own degrees including honorary degrees, diplomas and certificates.

(2) The University may withdraw a degree, diploma or certificate that the University has awarded, if the University has evidence that proves that

- (a) the degree, diploma or certificate was obtained through fraud or academic malpractice; or
- (b) the process of acquiring the degree, diploma or certificate was tainted by an act that in the opinion of the University undermines the integrity of the award.

Administration

The University Council

6. (1) The governing body of the University is a Council consisting of

- (a) a chairperson nominated by the President;
- (b) the Vice-Chancellor of the University;
- *(c)* one representative of the Ministry of Education not below the rank of a Director;
- (d) two senior members of the University elected by the Convocation representing the professorial and non-professorial staff;
- *(e)* one representative of the Information Communication Technology industry;
- (f) one representative of the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools nominated by the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools;
- (g) three persons nominated by the President, at least one of whom is a woman; and
- (h) one representative of the students, nominated by the Students Representative Council.

(2) The chairperson and other members of the Council shall be appointed by the President in accordance with article 70 of the Constitution.

(3) The President in making the nominations, under paragraphs (a) and (g) of subsection (1), shall have regard to the academic qualifications, leadership qualities, gender, expertise in finance, management, knowledge and relevant experience in matters relevant to academic and public administration and management.

Functions of the Council

7. The Council shall

- (a) ensure the implementation of the aims of the University;
- (b) approve plans and programmes of the University;
- (c) prescribe the terms and conditions for the admission of a person selected for any course of study and training organised by the University;