The Minister of Justice has issued a regulation banning unnecessary travel from specified high-risk areas due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The regulation enters into force today, 27 April, and remains in force until the end of May.

Until 31 May 2021, all foreigners who arrive from or have stayed in, for more than 24 hours within the last 14 days, an area where the 14-day incidence rate of infection is higher than 700 persons out of every 100 000 inhabitants, or where sufficient information about the area is not available, are forbidden from entering Iceland. The ban applies to all foreigners, including citizens of the EEA and EFTA, as well as all citizens of third countries.

The ban does not apply to foreigners residing in Iceland, including on the basis of a residence permit or other kind of right of residence, family members of Icelandic citizens and foreign nationals residing in Iceland, foreigners who are in long-term domestic partnerships with Icelandic citizens or foreign nationals who are legally residing in Iceland, foreign nationals who are able to show a certificate of vaccination