#### THE COUNTIES AND PARISHES ACT

Cap. 80. Law 64 of 1960.

#### [23rd April, 1867.]

1. This Act may be cited as the Counties and Parishes Short title. Act.

2. This Island shall be divided into three counties, Island divided into namely: Middlesex, Surrey and Cornwall.

3. The counties of Middlesex, Surrey and Cornwall shall Counties subdivided into and shall comprise the following into parishes which shall be constituted as follows:

## The County of Middlesex

(A) The parishes of Saint Catherine, Saint Dorothy, Saint John and Saint Thomas in the Vale shall constitute one parish under the name of the parish of Saint Catherine, and the town of Spanish Town shall be the parish town thereof.

(B) The parishes of Saint Mary and Metcalfe (as mentioned and described in section 6) shall constitute one parish, under the name of the parish of Saint Mary, and the town of Port Maria shall be the parish town thereof.

(c) The parishes of Clarendon and Vere shall constitute one parish, under the name of the parish of Clarendon, and the town of May Pen shall be the parish town thereof.

(D) The parish of Saint Ann shall constitute one parish, and the town of Saint Ann's Bay shall be the parish town thereof.

<sup>[</sup>The inclusion of this page is authorized by L.N. 480/1973]

(E) The parish of Manchester (as mentioned and described in section 5) shall constitute one parish and Mandeville shall be the parish town thereof.

# The County of Surrey

(F) The parish of Kingston shall constitute one parish and shall include the city and parish of Kingston, and the following portions of the parish of Saint Andrew, namely, Smith's Village, Hannah's Town, Fletcher's Town, and the land on each side of the Slipe Pen Road to Torrington Bridge, between the Admiral's Pen Gully on the one side, and the Race Course on the other, the Race Course, Allman's Town, and the lands south of the south gate of the Camp, and to the westward of the road leading from thence to Lisle's Chapel, as more particularly appearing in the plat or diagram of the said parish recorded with Law 20 of 1867; and the said parish of Kingston shall also include all that piece or parcel of land, part of the parish of Saint Andrew, which is bounded northerly by the Spanish Town Road, southerly by the sea, easterly by the present boundary of the parish of Kingston, and westerly by the western boundary of Bumper Hall Pen down to the sea, and the town of Port Royal and the strip of land called the Palisadoes formerly comprising the parish of Port Royal, and the head station thereof shall be in the city of Kingston.

(G) The remaining portion of the parish of Saint Andrew shall constitute one parish under the name of the parish of Saint Andrew, and Halfway-Tree shall be the head station thereof.

(H) The parish of Saint Thomas in the East, exclusive of the Manchioneal District, and the parish of Saint David

<sup>[</sup>The inclusion of this page is authorized by L.N. 480/1973]

shall constitute one parish, under the name of the parish of Saint Thomas, and the town of Morant Bay shall be the parish town thereof.

(1) The parishes of Portland and Saint George, with the Manchioneal District of the parish of Saint Thomas in the East, extending south to Hector's River, and a straight line drawn between the source of that river and the nearest source of the Rio Grande shall constitute one parish under the name of the parish of Portland and the town of Port Antonio shall be the parish town thereof.

### The County of Cornwall

(J) The parish of Trelawny shall constitute one parish, and the town of Falmouth shall be the parish town thereof.

(K) The parish of Saint James shall constitute one parish, and the town of Montego Bay shall be the parish town thereof.

(L) The parish of Hanover shall constitute one parish and the town of Lucea shall be the parish town thereof.

(M) The parish of Westmoreland shall constitute one parish, and the town of Savanna-la-Mar shall be the parish town thereof.

(N) The parish of Saint Elizabeth shall constitute one parish and the town of Black River shall be the parish town thereof.

4.--(1) The extent and boundaries of the said several and Boundaries respective counties and parishes of this Island as laid down and parishes and delineated in the three maps of the representative to be as in Robertson's counties and the general map of this Island (not including map. the parishes mentioned in sections 5 and 6 which were

<sup>[</sup>The inclusion of this page is authorized by L.N. 480/1973]