Kitobo/Kimorigho Mahoo Taveta North Taveta South

Made on the 30th October, 2007.

MUSIKARI KOMBO, Minister for Local Government.

LEGAL NOTICE NO. 228

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF GARISSA) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Garissa) Order, 2007.
- 2. The District of Garissa, excluding the area described in the First Schedule, is declared to be the County of Garissa.
- 3. The County of Garissa shall be divided into thirty two electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (9(a)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Garissa.
- 4. There shall be established in the County of Garissa a county council to be known as the County Council of Garissa which shall consist of—
  - (a) thirty-two elected councilors, one of whom shall be elected from each of the thirty-one electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
  - (b) not more than ten councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39 (1) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.
- 5. The Local Government (County Council of Garissa) Order, 2002, is revoked.

L.N. 213/2002.

## FIRST SCHEDULE

(Para.2)

## AREA OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF GARISSA

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/54, which is signed and deposited in the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi,