LEGAL NOTICE NO. 244

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF THARAKA) ORDER, 2007

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Tharaka) Order, 2007.

2. The area described in the First Schedule is declared to be the County of Tharaka.

3. The County of Tharaka shall be divided into the fifteen electoral areas specified in the Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (19), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Meru.

4. There shall be established in the County of Tharaka a county council to be known as the County Council of Tharaka which shall consist of—

- (a) fifteen elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the fifteen electoral areas specified in the Third Schedule; and
- (c) not more than four councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39(1) (c)of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.

5. The Local Government (County of Tharaka) Order, 2002, is L.N. 228/2002. revoked.

SCHEDULE

THE COUNTY OF THARAKA

Electoral Areas:

Tunyai Gakurungu Chiakariga Kamarandi/Kamanyaki Ntugi Marimanti Turima Nkondi Mwanyani Gikingo Thiti Kanjoro Kathangachini