Mitamisyi Ngomeni Ukasi Mbuvu Mutyangome Wingemi Nuu Kalitini Mui Kyome Migwani Nzauni Nguutani Thitani

Made on the 30th October, 2007.

MUSIKARI KOMBO, Minister for Local Government.

LEGAL NOTICE NO. 252

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:---

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (TOWNSHIP OF MWINGI ORDER, 2007

1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (Township of Mwingi) Order, 2007.

2. The area which is described in the First Schedule is declared to be the Township of Mwingi.

3 The Township of Mwingi shall be divided into the six electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (23(b)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Mwingi.

4. There shall be established in the Township of Mwingi a town council to be known as the Town Council of Mwingi which shall consist of—

- (a) six elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the six electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
- (b) not more than two councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39 (1) (c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.