LEGAL NOTICE No. 265

### THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 12 and 26 Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

# THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (MUNICIPALITY OF KARATINA) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (Municipality of Karatina) Order, 2007.
- 2. The area which is described in the First Schedule is declared to be the Municipality of Karatina.
- 3. The Municipality of Karatina shall be divided into the six electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA 27(c), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Nyeri.
- 4. There shall be established in the Municipality of Karatina a municipal council to be known as the Municipal Council of Karatina which shall consist of—
  - (a) six elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the six electoral areas specified in the Second Schedule; and
  - (b) not more than two councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 26 (b) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.

L.N. 249/2002.

5. The Local Government (Township of Karatina) Order, 2002 is revoked.

### FIRST SCHEDULE

(para. 2)

# AREA OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KARATINA

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/346, which is signed and deposited in the Electoral Commission, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the Clerk to the Municipal Council of Karatina.

#### SECOND SCHEDULE

(paras. 3 and 4)

# THE MUNICIPALITY OF KARATINA

Electoral Areas

Residential Railway Commercial Market