Wempa Kirimiri

Made on the 30th October, 2007.

MUSIKARI KOMBO, Minister for Local Government.

LEGAL NOTICE No. 277

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 5, 28 and 39 of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Local Government makes the following Order:—

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COUNTY OF KIAMBU) ORDER, 2007

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Local Government (County of Kiambu) Order, 2007.
- 2. The District of Kiambu, excluding the areas described in the First, Second and Third Schedules, is declared to be the County of Kiambu.
- 3. The County of Kiambu shall be divided into the twenty electoral areas specified in the Fifth Schedule, the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged blue, on Boundary Plan No. REA (31(a)), which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the District Commissioner, Kiambu.
- 4. There shall be established in the County of Kiambu a county council to be known as the County Council of Kiambu which shall consist of—
 - (a) twenty elected councillors one of whom shall be elected from each of the twenty electoral areas specified in the Fifth Schedule; and
 - (b) not more than seven councillors to be nominated by the Minister under section 39 (1) (c) of the Act, of whom one shall be a public officer.
- 5. The Local Government (County of Kiambu) Order, 2002 is revoked.

L.N. 261/2002.

FIRST SCHEDULE

(para. 2)

AREA OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF KIAMBU

The area the boundaries of which are more particularly delineated, edged carmine red, on Boundary Plan No.541/21, which is signed and deposited at the Office of the Electoral Commission of Kenya, Nairobi, and a copy of which may be inspected at the Office of the Clerk to Municipal Council of Kiambu.