TITLE 2 - ELECTIONS AND REFERENDA CHAPTER 4 - CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION



Republic of the Marshall Islands *Jepilpilin Ke Ejukaan*

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT, 2015

Index

Section	Page			
PART I - PRELIMINARY				
§401.	Short Title			
§402.	Interpretation	3		
§403.	Intent.			
PART	Γ II – CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION	4		
§404.	The Convention.	4		
§405.	Members	4		
§406.	Qualification	6		
§407.	Elections	6		
§408.	Vacancies.	7		
§409.	Pre-Convention Committee.	7		
§410.	Session of the Convention.	8		
§411.	President of the Convention.	8		
§412.	Procedures of the Convention.	8		
§413.	Duties of the Convention.	8		
§414.	Powers of the Convention	9		
PART	Γ III – GENERAL PROVISIONS	9		
§415.	Issues of Subpoenas.			
§416.	Contempt	10		
§417.	Staff of the Convention	10		
§418.	Compensation	10		
§419.	Appropriation	11		
§420.	Administration of Funds	11		



§421.	Effective Date	11
SCHE	13	
SUMMARY OF PROPOSALS		

TITLE 2 - ELECTIONS AND REFERENDA CHAPTER 4 - CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION



Republic of the Marshall Islands *Jepilpilin Ke Ejukaan*

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ACT, 2015

AN ACT to provide for a Constitutional Convention, prescribing its powers, duties and functions and for matters connected therewith

Commencemen	ıt:	October 19, 2015		
Source:		P.L. 2015-46		
Amended by:	P.L 2016-06	P.L. 2016-07	P.L 2016-08	
P.L 2016-09	P.L 2016-19	P.L 2016-25	P.L 2017-41	
P.L 2017-42	P.L 2017-43	P.L 2017-44	P.L 2017-51	
P.L. 2018-66				

PART I - PRELIMINARY

§401. Short Title

This Act may be cited as the Constitutional Convention Act, 2015.

§402. Interpretation.

In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:

- (a) "Committee" means the Pre-Convention Committee established under this Act;
- (b) "Convention" means the Constitutional Convention established herein;
- (c) "Speaker" means the Speaker of the Nitijela;



(d) "**President**" means the President of the Constitutional Convention.

§403. Intent.

- (1) Whereas the Nitijela is tasked with the responsibility at least once every ten years to report on the advisability of amending the Constitution or calling or holding a referendum on the question of calling or holding a Constitutional Convention, and that a Special Committee appointed by the Speaker of the Nitijela pursuant to Nitijela Resolution No.3 of 2013;
- (2) Whereas the Special Committee had compiled a report on the advisability of amending certain parts of the Constitution, and presented to the Nitijela, and on January 20, 2014 adopted the report;
- (3) Whereas all proposals, including those referenced under the Nitijela Special Committee 2013 Report are reproduced in the document attached herewith as Schedule 1; and
- (4) Now therefore, it is the duty of the Nitijela in accordance with Article XII Sections 1, 2 and 4 of the Constitution to provide for the holding of a Constitutional Convention as follows.

PART II – CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

§404. The Convention.

There is hereby created in accordance with Article XII Sections 1, 2 and 4 of the Constitution a convention to be known as the Marshall Islands Constitutional Convention and referred hereinafter as "the Constitutional Convention".

§405. Members.

The Constitutional Convention shall consist of 45 members of who shall be elected as follows:

- (1) Thirty three (33) members to be elected from the electoral districts in the same manner as provided in Article IV Section 402 of the Constitution, as follows:
 - (a) Majuro shall be represented by five (5) members;

- (b) Kwajalein shall be represented by three members;
- (c) Aillinglaplap shall be represented by two members;
- (d) Arno shall be represented by two members;
- (e) Jaluit shall be represented by two members;
- (f) Mili shall be represented by one member;
- (g) Ebon shall be represented by one member;
- (h) Lib shall be represented by one member;
- (i) Namdrik shall be represented by one member;
- (j) Maloelap shall be represented by one member;
- (k) Wotje shall be represented by one member;
- (l) Likiep shall be represented by one member;
- (m) Ailuk shall be represented by one member;
- (n) Aur shall be represented by one member;
- (o) Namu shall be represented by one member;
- (p) Wotho shall be represented by one member;
- (q) Enewetak and Ujelang shall be represented by one member;
- (r) Kili Bikini Ejit shall be represented by one member;
- (s) Rongelap shall be represented by one member;
- (t) Mejit shall be represented by one member;
- (u) Utrik shall be represented by one member;
- (v) Lae shall be represented by one member;
- (w) Ujae shall be represented by one member;
- (x) Jabat shall be represented by one member.
- (2) Narikrik, Erikub, Jemo, Taka, Bikar, Bokak, Rongrik and Ailinginae shall each be included in the electoral district with which it is most closely associated, pursuant to custom and traditional practice;
- (3) In addition to subsection (1) above, twelve (12) other members who are of Iroij descent shall be represented by four (4) Iroijs and or Leroijs, elected in the following manner:
 - (a) Railik Chain (excluding Enewetak and Ujelang) shall be represented by four (4) Iroijs and/or Leroijs, elected in the following manner:

