[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1579, June 11, 1978

AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 461 TO CREATE MINISTRY-WIDE REGIONAL OFFICES IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE.

WHEREAS, a more cohesive, integrated, and responsive administrative machinery is essential to the accelerated and successful implementation of the agricultural development programs; and

WHEREAS, as presently organized, the Ministry of Agriculture, the entity primarily responsible for the implementation of these programs, needs an improved organizational structure to operate in a unified and synchronized manner, and therefore should be restructured to enable it to attain in the most economical, efficient and effective means the national goal of increased production and self-sufficiency in basic foods.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby amend Presidential Decree No. 461, as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 2 shall read as follows:

"SEC. 2. The Ministry of Agriculture shall be composed of the Ministry Proper which shall include the Office of the Minister, the Planning Service, the Financial and Management Service, the Administrative Service, the Computer Service Center, and the Agrarian Reform Unit. The bureaus under the supervision and control of the Ministry are the (1) Bureau of Soils, (2) Bureau of Plant Industry, (3) Bureau of Animal Industry, (4) Bureau of Agricultural Extension, and (5) Bureau of Agricultural Economics. They shall be staff bureaus and primarily responsible for providing advice and assistance to the Office of the Minister; the development of plans and programs; the formulation of operating policies and standards; providing technical supervision to the regional offices; and such other functions as may be assigned by the Minister of Agriculture. The following government-owned and controlled corporations are attached to the Ministry: (a) National Grains Authority, (b) Philippine Tobacco Administration, (c) Philippine Virginia Tobacco Administration (d) Coconut Investment Company, and (e) Philippine Cotton Corporation. The National Food and Agriculture Council, Green Revolution Expanded Program Action Committee, Livestock Development Council, National Artificial Rain Stimulation Committee, and the National Meat Inspection Commission are placed under the administrative supervision of the Ministry. The Fertilizer and Pesticides Authority, Abaca Industry Development Authority, Philippine Virginia Tobacco Board, Presidential Committee on Agricultural Credit, Philippine Agricultural Training Council, Palayan ng Bayan National Advisory Council, and National Governing Board of the Philippine Training Centers for Rural Development are attached to the Ministry. The Philippine Council for Agriculture and Resources Research shall be attached to the National Science Development Board."