## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1086, February 04, 1977 ]

## CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF LANGUYAN IN THE PROVINCE OF TAWI-TAWI.

**WHEREAS,** it is the primary goal of the state to accelerate the pace of progress throughout the land, not only in areas where economic development lagged but likewise in places where political reasons, among others, constitute a serious impediment toward the realization of the aims and purposes of the New Society;

**WHEREAS**, the primordial aim of development and rehabilitation in the province of Tawi-Tawi can be best achieved by the creation of local government units which could, through faster administrative response, provide prompt and adequate assistance to the social, cultural and economic needs of its residents;

**WHEREAS,** the creation of the proposed municipality will redound and contribute greatly to the maintenance of peace and order and to the pacification drive to restore normalcy in the area;

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS,** President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree, as part of the law of the land, the following:

- **SECTION 1.** Barangays Lañguyan Proper, Darussalam, Maraning, Tohog-Tohog, Parang Pantay, Bas Nunuk, Si malak, Bakong, Tumbaga-an, Bas-bas and Tumahubong, all in the municipalities of Bongao, Tandubas and South Ubian, in the province of Tawi-Tawi, are hereby detached and separated therefrom to constitute a separate and in dependent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Lañguyan without affecting in any manner the legal existence of the municipalities of Bongao, Tandubas, and South Ubian.
- **SEC. 2**. The seat of government of the newly created municipality shall be in Barangay Languyan Proper.
- **SEC. 3**. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law, now or hereafter applicable to regular municipalities shall be applicable to the new municipality of Lañguyan.
- **SEC. 4**. The present elective officials of the municipality of Bongao shall perform their duties as such in the newly created municipality until the officials of the latter shall have been duly appointed by the President and they shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the election for provincial and municipal officials following the issuance of this decree, and shall have qualified unless sooner removed at the pleasure of the President. Such appointive officers and employees as may be necessary to organize or to complete the government personnel of the municipality of Lañguyan shall be appointed as provided for under existing laws.
- **SEC. 5.** Upon effectivity of this Decree, the proportionate share of the new municipality of Languyan in the obligations, funds, assets and other property of the municipalities of Bongao, Tandubas and South Ubian shall be transferred by the President to the newly created municipality upon the recommendation of the Commission on Audit.