[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1134, May 04, 1977

CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF MAGUING IN THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL SUR

WHEREAS, it is the desired aim of the State to provide every possible opportunity and facility to hasten the pace of progress throughout the land with emphasis not only on areas where economic development is behind but likewise in places where political reasons, among others, constitute a stumbling block toward the early realization of the ideals of the New Society;

WHEREAS, the municipality of Lumba-Bayabao in the province of Lanao del Sur is comprised of so vast a territory (100 square kilometers) and densely populated that the present officials thereof are unable to efficiently discharge the functions of government;

WHEREAS, a division of said municipality into two municipalities would not only enhance the progress and development of the areas involved, for in this regard, projects for development would be subjected to closer attention and supervision of local officials, but would also insure peace and order within their respective localities;

WHEREAS, the necessity is imperative to create, by division, the municipality of Maguing out of the existing municipality of Lumba-Bayabao so as to maximize the efficacy of law and order thereat and to expedite optimum development thereof, particularly considering that the proposed municipality is the rice production center of the Basak area; and

WHEREAS, the creation of the municipality of Maguing will benefit economically, socially and politically the residents of the area or areas affected.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby decree and order and make as part of the laws of the land:

SECTION 1. Lumba-Bayabao in the province of Lanao del Sur shall remain a municipality, exercising powers and discharging functions over the areas specified in the law of its creation, except the barrios of Borua, Alog, Pindolonan, Butod, Dimaro, Lumbac, Balagunun, Dimagalin, Bulao, Borokot, Dasaon, Romapunot, Dilausan, Madaya, Madanding, Malungun, Mimbasa, Pinduolonan, Linindingan, Buadiangcay, Pagalongan, Pilimoknan, Maguing-proper Batobato, Bualan, Tandiongkairan, Rinabor, Minipagalanga, Balintao, Bubong, Dilinbayan, Panayangan, Macadiar, Iclo, Elian, Kianodan, Runggayan, Ilalag, Camalag, Kilala, Cambong, Balawag, Minaring, Dalidigan, Bosicong, Pantao, and Agagan, all of the aforesaid municipality, which are hereby segregated therefrom to constitute a separate and independent municipality to be known as the municipality of Maguing, both in the province of Lanao del Sur.

- **SEC. 2.** The seat of government of the municipality of Maguing shall be barrio Dilausan.
- **SEC. 3.** The present elective officials of the municipality of Lumba-Bayabao shall perform their duties as such in the newly created municipality until the officials of