[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1260, December 12, 1977]

AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 780 DATED AUGUST 25, 1975, CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF MATANOG, IN THE PROVICE OF MAGUINDANAO.

WHEREAS, the promulgation of Presidential Decree No. 780 dated August 25, creating the Municipality of Matanog in the province of Maguindanao has brought about an unwarranted segregation of a territorial area from the Province of Lanao del Sur particularly the land area comprising the Municipality of Balabagan; and

WHEREAS, due to the unnecessary pruning of its vast territorial area, the financial stability of the Municipality of Balabagan had been adversely affected.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree:

SECTION 1. Barangays Bayanga del Norte, Bayanga del Sur, Bugusan del Norte, Bugusan del Sur, Kidama and Sagad, all in the Municipality of Parang, Province of Maguindanao, are detached and separated therefrom to form and constitute into a distinct and independent municipality which is created to be known as the Municipality of Matanog without affecting in any manner the legal existence of the mother Municipality of Parang.

SEC. 2. This Decree shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Manila, this 12th day of December, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-seven.

(Sgd.) FERDINAND E. MARCOS President of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) JUAN C. TUVERA

Presidential Assistant



Source: Supreme Court E-Library This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)