## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 879, January 23, 1976 ]

## DIVIDING REGION NO. 4 OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE FIELD ORGANIZATION OF THE VARIOUS DEPARTMENTS AND AGENCIES OF THE GOVERNMENT INTO REGION NO. 4 AND 4-A.

**WHEREAS**, the Katipunan Ng Mga Sangguniang Bayan petitions that the Metropolitan Manila area shall be considered as a separate region for purposes of administrative field organization of the various departments and agencies of the national government;

**WHEREAS**, at present the Metropolitan Manila area is embraced in Region No. 4 under the Integrated Reorganization Plan:

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS**, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby decree and order:

**SECTION 1**. Any provision of law to the contrary notwithstanding, Region No. 4 is hereby divided into two regions to be known as Region No. 4 and Region No. 4-A.

Region No. 4 shall comprise the Metropolitan Manila area as contemplated in Presidential Decree No. 824, with the regional center either in Manila or Quezon City.

Region No. 4-A shall comprise the towns of Rizal not included in Metropolitan Manila and the provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Quezon, Aurora (sub-province), Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Rom-blom and Palawan, and the cities of Batangas, Cavite, Lipa, Lucena, San Pablo, Tagaytay, Trece Martires and Puerto Princesa. Until otherwise decreed, the regional center for Region No. 4-A shall be in Metropolitan Manila.

**SEC. 2**. All laws, decrees, orders or regulations inconsistent herewith are hereby amended or repealed accordingly.

**SEC. 3**. This Decree shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Manila, this 23rd day of January, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-six.

(Sgd.) FERDINAND E. MARCOS

President Republic of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) JACOBO C. CLAVE Presidential Executive Assistant