[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 916, March 31, 1976]

CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF POONA-PIAGAPO IN THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL NORTE.

WHEREAS, it is the popular clamor of the residents of certain barangays in the municipalities of Pantau-Ragat and Matungao to creat a new political unit to be known as the municipality of Poona-Piagapo; and

WHEREAS, the proposed municipality has the financial capacity to finance its operations as an independent municipality;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me bylaw, do hereby order and decree;

SECTION 1. The barangays of Tangklao, Piangamanga-nan, Kadayonan, Lupitan, Punud, Kabasaran, Pantau-Raya, Kablanga, Pantaon, Nunungen, Lumbaka-Ingud, and Tadokon in the municipality of Pantau-Ragat, and the barangays of Lumbaka-Ingud, Pened, Domiorog, Daramba, Nunang, Sulo, Caromatan, Tagoranao, Madamba, Lumbatan, Madaya, Bobong-Dinaig, Linindingan, Mali-wanag, Dinaig, Timbangalan, Pindolonan, and Alowin in the municipality of Matungao, all in the province, of Lanao del Norte, are hereby separated from said municipalities and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the municipality of Poona-Piagapo in the Province of Lanao del Norte. The seat of the new municipality shall be located at the barangay of Poona-Piagapo to be established within the proximity of Barangay Lumbaka-Ingud.

SEC. 2. The President shall appoint the mayor, vice-mayor, and councilors of the municipality of Poona-Piagapo who shall hold office until their successors have been elected or appointed, as the case may be.

SEC. 3. This Decree shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Manila, this 31st day of March, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and seventy-six.

(Sgd.) FERDINAND E. MARCOS President Republic of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) JACOBO C. CLAVE Presidential Executive Assistant