[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 840, December 11, 1975]

REORGANIZING THE POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THE PROVINCE OF BASILAN, CONVERTING BASILAN CITY INTO THE MUNICIPALITY OF ISABELA, APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFORE, AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

WHEREAS, the Province of Basilan is at present subdivided into political units of a size and number not complementary to the size of the area;

WHEREAS, in order to render the territorial partition of the Province of Basilan, under Presidential Decrees No. 356 and No. 593, more responsive to the pacification, rehabilitation and total development program for the area;

WHEREAS, in order to effect a more viable political status for the Province of Basilan, a new subdivision of the province is consequently in order;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers in me vested by the Constitution do hereby order and decree as follows:

SECTION 1. The City of Basilan is abolished and the province of Basilan is the territory embracing the whole island of Basilan and the adjacent islands, with the capital seat in the municipality of Isabela.

The province shall be comprised of seven (7) municipalities hereby organized as follows:

- 1. The municipality of Isabela shall comprise the areas covered by the former City of Basilan, and the former municipalities of Isabela and Malamawi;
- 2. The municipality of Lantawan shall comprise the areas covered by the municipality of Lantawan and the former municipality of Pilas;
- 3. The municipality of Sumisip shall comprise the areas covered by the municipality of Sumisip and the former municipality of Tapiantana;
- 4. The municipality of Maluso;
- 5. The municipality of Tipo-Tipo;
- 6. The municipality of Lamitan;
- 7. The municipality of Tuburan.
- **SEC. 2**. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to regular provinces shall be applicable to the province of Basilan.
- **SEC. 3**. The Regional Commissioner of Region IX is hereby authorized to reappoint, redesignate or reassign employees of the provincial and municipal governments and to recommend to the President of the Philippines the reappointment, redesignation or reassignment of incumbent elective officials such that the governmental framework in the province remains unimpaired and effective. Such employees and officials reappointed, redesignated or reassigned shall hold office until their successors shall have been appointed or elected in accordance with the law, unless sooner removed for cause by the Regional Commissioner in the case of employees of the provincial and municipal governments, or by the President of the Philippines