## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 586, November 20, 1974 ]

## AMENDING REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6372 ENTITLED: "AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF DUPAX DEL SUR FROM THE MUNICIPALITY OF DUPAX IN THE PROVINCE OF NUEVA VIZCAYA," INSERTING NEW SECTIONS THEREIN, PROVIDING FOR IMPLEMENTATION THEREOF.

**WHEREAS**, R.A. 6372 which created the new Municipality of Dupax del Sur out of the existing town of Dupax was enacted in 1971 in obedience to the overwhelming clamor of the people therein;

**WHEREAS**, in order to ascertain the true sentiments of the people on the matter, and as a condition precedent for the implementation thereof, R.A. 6372 provided among others the following:

"**SEC. 5**. The new municipality shall acquire corporate existence following a plebiscite held at the national or local elections immediately following the approval of this Act wherein a majority of the qualified voters of all the barrios concerned vote affirmatively in favor of the creation of the new Municipality of Dupax del Sur."

**WHEREAS**, in compliance with afore-cited section of R.A. 6372, a plebiscite was held on November 8, 1971 in conjunction with the local elections that year;

**WHEREAS**, after due canvass, the Commission on Elections which acted as Board of Canvassers of the votes cast in said plebiscite, made on February 22, 1972, the following certification:

"That after such canvassing, the result shows that One Thousand Forty-Four (1,044) votes were cast In FAVOR OF, and that ninety-two (92) votes were cast Against, the separation of said barrios and sitios from said municipality and its constitution into a distinct and independent municipality, out of One Thousand Eight Hundred Three (1,803) registered voters of said barrios and sitios;

"Considering that Republic Act 6372 requires only the affirmative vote of 'majority of the qualified voters' of all the barrios concerned; and that the affirmative votes cast represent the affirmative votes of a majority of the qualified voters of the barrios concerned;

"We, therefore proclaim that the barrios of Mangayang, I-Iyo or Palabutan, Banila, Carrolatan, Ganao, Abaca or Kawala, Bukidnon, Abuyo and Lublub, and the sitios of Santa Maria, Tanibong, Gabut, Cayno, Narra, Aruat, Cabnawan, Dahilan, Ginir, Sequep, Pa-dalis, Pass, Bato, Sinai, and Binay of the Municipality of Dupax, Province of Nueva Vizcaya, shall be separated from the Municipality of Dupax and be constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Dupax del Sur, Province of Nueva Vizcaya in accordance with the provisions of Republic Act No. 6372."