[PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 615, December 19, 1974]

CONVERTING THE DON MARIANO MARCOS MEMORIAL COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE INTO DON MARIANO MARCOS MEMORIAL STATE COLLEGE, PROVIDING A CHARTER FOR THIS PURPOSE, EXPANDING ITS CURRICULAR OFFERINGS, REDIRECTING ITS OBJECTIVES AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, the Constitution directs the State to establish and maintain a complete, adequate and integrated system of education relevant to the goals of national development and further prescribes that all educational institutions shall aim to develop scientific, technological and vocational efficiency;

WHEREAS, under Presidential Decree No. 6-A also known as the Educational Development Decree of 1972 promulgated on September 29, 1972, it is the declared policy of the government to reorient the education system towards economic growth and social development;

WHEREAS, the conversion of the Don Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Agriculture into a State College with a charter of its own, for the purpose of broadening its curricular offering and redirecting its objectives would hasten the development of the region, particularly the provinces of La Union, Pangasinan, Ilocos Sur and Benguet, and thereby contribute to the accomplishment of national goals;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby order and decree the following:

SECTION 1. The present Don Mariano Marcos Memorial College of Agriculture, located in the Municipality of Bacnotan, Province of La Union, established under Republic Act No. 5310 is hereby converted into Don Mariano Marcos State College, hereinafter referred to as College.

SEC. 2. The College shall primarily provide professional and advanced vocational and technical instruction and training in agriculture, fisheries, forestry and industrial technologies. It shall also promote research, advanced studies, and progressive, leadership in its fields of specialization.

SEC. 3. In addition to its present secondary and collegiate curricular offerings, the College shall offer under-graduate and graduate courses in the fields of agriculture, fishery, forestry and industrial technologies as the Board of Trustees may deem necessary to carry out its objectives. It shall also offer opportunity or short-term technical or vocational courses within its areas of specialization to meet the needs of the region.

SEC. 4. No student shall be denied admission to the College by reason of sex, ethnic consideration, or religious belief or affiliation.

SEC. 5. The College shall be headed by a President to be appointed by the President of the Philippines. His salary shall be fixed by the Board of Trustees and shall be

comparable to that being received by the President of similar educational institutions of like enrolment and standing.

The powers and duties of the President of the College in addition to those specifically provided for in this Decree shall be those usually pertaining to the office of the President of a State College.

SEC. 6. The governing body of the College shall be the Board of Trustees, to be composed of the Secretary of Education and Culture as Chairman, the Regional Director of the National Economic and Development Authority, the President of the College and four (4) other distinguished citizens of Region No. 1, who shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines, as members. Of the four appointed members one shall be an authority in agriculture, one in trades and technology, one in general education and one in commerce and industry; *Provided*, That at least one of the four appointed by the President, one shall serve for one year; one to serve for two years; one to serve for three years; and one to serve four years. Thereafter, appointed to succeed such members shall hold office for a term of four years and until successors shall have been appointed and qualified-. In cases of a permanent vacancy, the position shall be filled by appointment by the President of the Philippines. Such an appointee shall hold office for the unexpired term only.

When the Secretary of Education and Culture is unable to perform his duties as Chairman of the Board due to illness, absence or other cause, or in case of vacancy in the office, the Undersecretary of Education and Culture shall temporarily perform the function of the Chairman of the said Board. The Chairman may assign qualified officials to represent him with full authority in the Board.

SEC. 7. A quorum of the Board of Trustees shall consist of a majority of all the members holding office at the time a meeting is called. All processes against the Board of Trustees shall be served on the President or Secretary thereof.

SEC. 8. The members of the Board of Trustees shall serve without compensation but shall be entitled to an allowance of One Hundred Pesos per meeting actually attended but not exceeding Three Hundred Pesos a month, and to reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred in attendance of meetings and other official business authorized by resolution of the Board.

SEC. 9. The Board of Trustees shall have the following powers and duties, in addition to its general powers of administration, and all the powers of the governing board of a corporation as provided in Section 13 of Act No. 1459 as amended, otherwise known as the Corporation Law:

- a. To receive and appropriate for the purpose specified by law such sums as may be provided for the support of the College;
- b. To confer degrees upon successful candidates for graduation of the College. It may also confer honorary degrees upon persons in recognition of learning, statesmanship or eminence in any of the fields of specialization of the College, or in recognition of public service: *Provided*, That such degrees shall not be conferred in consideration of or to reciprocate some personal favor;
- c. To authorize the President of the College to award proficiency certificates or diplomas to students who have completed non-degree courses;
- d. To appoint, on recommendation of the President of the College, a vicepresident, deans, directors, secretary of the College, registrar, heads of