## [ PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 593, December 02, 1974 ]

## AMENDING PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 356 DATED DECEMBER 27, 1973, CREATING THE PROVINCE OF BASILAN.

**WHEREAS**, pursuant to the policy of the state to create every possible opportunity in every part of the country, with particular stress on those areas whose economic development, for one reason or another lagged behind the rest of the nation, Presidential Decree No. 356 dated December 27, 1973, was promulgated creating the province of Basilan; Whereas, under said decree, the particular needs of the city of Basilan from the point of view of making the same financially viable at least for the purpose of rendering essential public service, appear not to have been considered; and

**WHEREAS**, as a result thereof, the envisioned speedy development was hampered by some factors which unless remedied would render futile all attempts of said local government units to respond to the problems of and provide adequate service to the residents of the area.

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, FERDINAND E. MARCOS**, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers in me vested by Constitution, do hereby decree and order the amendment of Presidential Decree No. 356 dated December 27, 1973, as follows:

**SECTION 1**. Section 1 thereof is hereby amended, so as to read as follows:

"SECTION 1. Except that portion of the territory consisting the former municipality of Isabela, beginning at a point marked "I" being S41°-00'E, 4,000 meters to point 2; thence N48°-30'E, 4,550 meters to point 3; thence from kilometers 4.60 in a crooked line along Tabiawan river to point 4; thence along the shoreline of Isabela Channel to the point of the beginning, with an area of 300 hectares more or less, comprising the barangays of Campong Baro, Binuangan, Tabiawan, Busay, Lanote, San Rafael, Menzi, Kumalarang, and Kabong Bata (reference used in the preparation of the technical description — the map of Basilan City showing road system prepared by the Department of Public Highways, bearing a scale of 1:120, 000), which shall be known as the City of Basilan, the territory embracing the whole island of Basilan and adjacent islands, which is hereby divided into the municipalities of:

- a. Maluso, with territorial area beginning at the point marked "1" being N11°-00'E (mouth of Cabcaban River), 14.000 meters to point 2; thence N88°- 00'W, 3,000 meters to point 3; thence N88°-00'W, 7,000 meters to point 4; thence along the coastline to point of the beginning, including Cancuman, Sicagot, Langan, Tamuk, Takela, Goreno, Tensolan, Pandak and Dalauan islands, with seat of government at Barangay Maluso;
- b. Lamitan, with territorial area beginning from point marked "1" being the mouth of Balagtasan river along the course of the river to Balagtasan bridge to point 2; thence S15°-00'E, 13,600 meters to point 3; thence S88°-00'E, 8,7700 meters to point 4; thence N31°-00.'E, 2,5000 meters to point 5; thence S69°-00'E, 7,000