[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 11015, April 20, 2018]

AN ACT RENAMING THE RAMON MAGSAYSAY TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY (RMTU) AS THE PRESIDENT RAMON MAGSAYSAY STATE UNIVERSITY (PRMSU), EXPANDING ITS CURRICULAR OFFERINGS AND STRENGTHENING ITS GOVERNING BOARD, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8498, ENTITLED "AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE RAMON MAGSAYSAY TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY OUT OF THE INTEGRATION OF THE RAMON MAGSAYSAY POLYTECHNIC COLLEGE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF IBA, THE WESTERN LUZON AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN MARCELINO AND THE CANDELARIA SCHOOL OF FISHERIES IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF CANDELARIA, ALL IN THE PROVINCE OF ZAMBALES, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Ramon Magsaysay Technological University (RMTU) in the Province of Zambales is hereby renamed as the President Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU).

All references to Ramon Magsaysay Technological University in Republic Act No. 8498 are now referred to as President Ramon Magsaysay State University.

SEC .2. As a comprehensive state university, the President Ramon Magsaysay State University (PRMSU). hereinafter referred to as the University, shall primarily provide advance and higher professional, technical and special instructions in education and technology, engineering and architecture, agriculture, forestry and fisheries, public administration and management, business and accountancy, economics and finance, tourism, hospitality and culinary management, creative industries, humanities, arts and sciences, information and communications technology, maritime education, law and legal management, medicine and health-related programs, peace and security programs and other related fields of study. It shall also undertake research and extension, as well as income generation programs, for the sustainable development of the Province of Zambales, the region and the country.

SEC. 3. The University shall offer undergraduate and graduate programs in the fields of education, technology, engineering and architecture, agriculture, forestry and fisheries, public administration and management, business and accountancy, economics and finance, tourism, hospitality and culinary management, creative industries, humanities, arts and sciences, information and communications technology, maritime education, law and legal management, medicine and health-related programs, peace and security programs and other relevant programs within its areas of specialization and according to its capabilities, as the Board of Regents

may deem necessary to carry out its objectives, in order to meet the needs of the Province of Zambales, the region and the country.

- SEC. 4. The governing board of the University shall be the Board of Regents, hereinafter referred to as the Board, which shall be composed of the following:
- (a) The Chairperson of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Chairperson;
- (b) The President of the President Ramon Magsaysay State University, Cochairperson;
- (c) The Chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture of the Senate, member;
- (d) The Chairperson of the Committee on Higher and Technical Education of the House of Representatives, member;
- (e) The Regional Director of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), member;
- (f) The Regional Director of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), member;
- (g) The Regional Director of the Department of Agriculture (DA), member:
- (h) The President of the federation of alumni associations of the University, member;
- (i) The President of the federation of student governments of the University, member;
- (j) The President of the federation of faculty associations of the University, member;
- (k) Three (3) prominent Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of duly recognized national or multinational corporations who have distinguished themselves in the fields of specialization of the University or who have entered into a partnership with the University, members; and
- (I) Two (2) prominent academicians in the Philippines who have distinguished themselves in the fields of specialization of the University through their publication and track record in research, members.

The three (3) prominent CEOs and the two (2) prominent academicians shall be chosen from among a list of at least five (5) qualified persons respectively, as recommended by the search committee of the University constituted by the University President, in consultation with the Chairperson of the CHED, based on normal standards and qualifications for the position.

The three (3) prominent CEOs and the two (2) prominent academicians shall serve for a term of two (2) years and may be reappointed by the Board of Regents for another term.

SEC. 5. The University shall be headed by a President, who shall render full-time service. The President shall be appointed by the Board, subject to the guidelines, qualifications and standards set by the Board, upon recommendation of a duly constituted search committee: *Provided*, That in order to effect a smooth transition