[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9508, October 20, 2008]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR THE REAPPORTIONMENT OF THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF AGUSAN DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Legislative Districts. - The lone legislative district of the Province of Agusan del Sur is hereby reapportioned to commence in the next national elections after the effectivity of this Act. Henceforth, the City of Bayugan and the municipalities of Sibagat, Prosperidad, Talacogon, San Luis and Esperanza shall comprise the first legislative district while the municipalities of San Francisco, Rosario, Bunawan, Trento, Sta. Josefa, Veruela, Loreto and La Paz shall comprise the second legislative district.

- SEC. 2. *Rules and Regulations.* The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.
- SEC. 3. *Repealing Clause.* All other laws, rules and regulations inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.
- SEC. 4. *Effectivity*. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

(Sgd.) PROSPERO C. NOGRALES

Speaker of the House of Representatives

(Sqd.) MANNY VILLAR

President of Senate

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on December 18, 2007 and July 29, 2008, respectively.

(Sgd.) MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP

(Sgd.) EMMA LIRIO-REYES

Secretary General House of Representatives

Secretary of Senate

Approved: OCT 20, 2008

(Sgd.) GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

President of the Philippines