[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9265, March 15, 2004]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF SAN ISIDRO IN THE PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. *Creation.* — There is hereby created a new municipality in the Province of Davao del Norte to be known as the Municipality of San Isidro.

SEC. 2. Seat of the Municipal Government. — The seat of government of the new Municipality of San Isidro shall be in Barangay Sawata.

SEC. 3. *Territorial Boundaries.* — The Municipality of San Isidro as herein created composed, composed of barangays Sawata, Sabangan, Mamangan, Sto. Niño, Igangon and Kipalili, of the Municipality of Asuncion, and barangays Dacudao, Datu Balong, Libuton, Pinamuno, Monte Dujali, Linao and San Miguel, of the Municipality of Kapalong, all in the Province of Davao del Norte, has the following technical description:

Bounded on the North by the Municipality of Kapalong; on the South by the Municipality of Kapalong and the Municipality of Asuncion; on the East by the Province of Compostela Valley; and on the West by the Municipality of Kapalong.

The foregoing provision shall be without prejudice to the resolution by the appropriate agency or forum of any boundary dispute or case involving question of territorial jurisdiction between Municipality of San Isidro and the adjoining local government units (LGUs): *Provided, however,* That the territorial jurisdiction of the disputed area or areas shall remain with the LGU, which has existing administrative supervision over said area or areas until the final resolution of the case.

SEC. 4. *Plebiscite.* — The Municipality of San Isidro shall acquire corporate existence upon the ratification of its creation by a majority of the votes cast by qualified voters in a plebiscite to be conducted in the barangays comprising the Municipality of San Isidro pursuant to Section 3 hereof and in the municipalities of Asuncion and Kapalong, Province of Davao del Norte within thirty (30) days from the approval of this Act. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise such plebiscite.

SEC. 5. Officials of the Municipality of San Isidro. — Upon ratification of its creation by a majority of the votes cast by qualified voters in a plebiscite, the mayor, vice mayor and the members of the sangguniang bayan shall be appointed by the President of the Republic of the Philippines, in consultation with the representative of the congressional district and the provincial governor, and shall serve until the new set of officials shall have been elected and qualified in the next local elections following the approval of this Act.