## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9229, December 17, 2003 ]

## AN ACT AMENDING SECTIONS 8(A) OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8507 ENTITLED, "AN ACT CONVERTING THE MUNICIPALITY OF PARAÑAQUE INTO A HIGHLY URBANIZED CITY TO BE KNOWN AS THE CITY OF PARAÑAQUE"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 8(a) of Republic Act No. 8507, otherwise known as the Charter of the City of Parañaque, is hereby amended to read as follows:

- "SEC. 8. The Sangguniang Panlungsod. (a) The Sangguniang panlunsod, the legislative body of the City, shall be composed of the vice mayor as presiding officer, the eight (8) regular sanggunian members in each district who shall be elected by popular vote in the district where they reside, the president of the city chapter of the liga ng mga barangay, the president of the panlunsod na pederasyon ng mga sangguniang kabataan, and the sectoral representatives, as members."
- SEC. 2. Section 48 of Republic Act No. 8507, otherwise known as the Charter of the City of Parañaque, is hereby amended to read as follows:
  - "SEC 48. Legislative Districts. As a highly urbanized city, the City of Parañaque shall have two (2) legislative districts. Henceforth, barangays Baclaran, Tambo, Vitales, Sto. Niño, Dongalo, La Huerta, San Dionisio and San Isidro shall compose the first legislative district while barangays BF Homes, San Antonio, Sun Valley, San Martin de Porres, Don Bosco, Merville, Marcelo Green and Moonwalk shall form part of the second legislative district."
- SEC. 3. *Election of Representatives.* The Representatives of the two (2) legislative districts shall be elected in the next national election after the passage of this Act.
- SEC. 4. *Repealing Clause.* All laws, executive orders, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed or modified accordingly.
- SEC. 5. *Effectivity Clause*. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after completion of its publication in at least two (2) newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

(Sgd.) FRANKLIN M. DRILON

(Sgd.) JOSE DE VENECIA JR.

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House of Representatives