[**REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8744**, December 18, 1998]

AN ACT REPEALING SECTION 3 OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7901 AND TO RETURN THE PROVINCE OF SULTAN KUDARAT TO REGION XII AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 3 of Republic Act No. 7901 which states:

"SEC. 3. As a result of the transfer of Surigao del Sur to Region XIII, the Province of Sultan Kudarat shall not form part of Region XI." is hereby repealed.

SEC. 2. The Province of Sultan Kudarat shall now form part of Region XII of the Mindanao Administrative Region in accordance with Executive Order No. 429.

SEC. 3. All laws, decrees, orders, rules and regulations or parts thereof inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed or amended accordingly.

SEC. 4. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved,

(Sgd.) NEPTALI A. GONZALES

President of the Senate

(Sgd.) JOSE DE VENECIA JR. Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on May 29, 1997 and February 19, 1998, respectively.

(Sgd.) HEZEL P. GACUTAN

Secretary of the Senate

(Sgd.) ROBERTO P. NAZARENO Secretary General House of

Representatives

Approved:

FIDEL V. RAMOS

President of the Philippines

Lapsed into law on December 18, 1998, without the signature of the President, in accordance with Article VI, Section 27 (1) of the Constitution.