[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7878, February 14, 1995]

AN ACT CONVERTING THE SUB-PROVINCES OF KALINGA AND APAYAO INTO REGULAR PROVINCES TO BE KNOWN AS THE PROVINCE OF KALINGA AND THE PROVINCE OF APAYAO. AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4695.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION. 1. The sub-provinces of Kalinga and Apayao are hereby converted into regular provinces, to be known as the Province of Kalinga and the Province of Apayao.
- SEC. 2. The Province of Kalinga shall comprise the present sub-province of Kalinga consisting of the municipalities of Balbalan, Lubuagan, Pasil, Pinukpuk, Rizal, Tanudan, Tabuk, and Tinglayan.
- SEC. 3. The Province of Apayao shall comprise the present sub-province of Apayao consisting of the municipalities of Calanasan, Conner, Kabugao, Flora, Pudtol, Luna, and Sta. Marcela.
- SEC. 4. The provincial capital of the Province of Kalinga shall be Tabuk and that of the Province of Apayao shall be Kabugao.
- SEC. 5. Except as hereinafter provided, the provisions of Republic Act No. 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991, and all other laws pertaining to and applicable to regularly organized provinces shall apply to the provinces of Kalinga and Apayao.
- SEC. 6. The incumbent elective provincial officials of Kalinga-Apayao shall be assigned to and shall perform their duties in the same positions in the corresponding new province to which said elective provincial officials reside in or belong to as a member of a particular tribe or ethnic group inhabiting the province: *Provided*, That they shall continue to receive the salaries they are receiving at the time of the approval of this Act until the new readjustment of salaries in accordance with existing law: *Provided*, *further*, That where a position in a new province becomes vacant as a consequence of the conversion, all officials as may be necessary to fill in any vacancies in elective positions for the two (2) provinces shall, for the time being, be appointed by the President of the Philippines, and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the election for the local officials following the approval of this Act and shall have qualified.
- SEC. 7. The present appointive officers and employees of the Province of Kalinga-Apayao shall likewise perform their respective duties as such in any of the two (2) provinces herein created which they shall individually choose within thirty (30) days