[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7056, June 20, 1991]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR THE NATIONAL AND LOCAL ELECTIONS IN 1992, PAVE THE WAY FOR SYNCHRONIZED AND SIMULTANEOUS ELECTIONS BEGINNING 1995, AND AUTHORIZING APPROPRIATIONS THEREFOR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Statement of Policy. - It is the policy of the State to start, as much as practicable, the synchronization of the elections so that the process can be completed in the 1995 elections with the result that beginning 1995 there shall be only one (1) simultaneous regular elections for national and local elective officials once every three (3) years.

SEC. 2. Start of Synchronization. - To start the process of synchronization of elections in accordance with the policy herein before declared, there shall be held:

- a. An election for President and Vice President of the Philippines, twenty-four (24) Senators, and all elective Members of the House of Representatives on the second Monday of May, 1992; and
- b. An election of all provincial, city, and municipal elective officials on the second Monday of November, 1992.

SEC. 3. *Term of Office.* - The President, the Vice President, and the Senators shall have a term of office of six (6) years beginning at noon on the 30th day of June next following their elections: *Provided, however,* That, of the twenty-four (24) Senators to be elected on the second Monday of May, 1992, the first twelve (12) obtaining the highest number of votes shall serve for six (6) years and the remaining twelve (12), for three (3) years.

The Members of the House of Representatives and all elective provincial, city, and municipal officials shall serve for a term of three (3) years which shall begin at noon on the 30th day of June next following their elections: *Provided, however,* That, in view of the many difficult if not insurmountable problems to a full and immediate synchronization of all elections on the second Monday of May, 1992, all incumbent provincial, city, and municipal officials shall hold over beyond the 30th day of June, 1992 and serve until their successors shall have been duly elected and qualified. The tenure of the newly elected local officials shall start at noon of November 30, 1992.

No Vice President shall serve for more than two (2) successive terms.

No Senator shall serve for more than two (2) consecutive terms.

No Member of the House of Representatives shall serve for more than three (3) consecutive terms.

No elective provincial, city, or municipal official shall serve for more than three (3) consecutive terms.

Voluntary renunciation of the office for any length of time shall not be considered as an interruption in the continuity of his service for the full term for which he was elected.

- SEC. 4. Full synchronization of Elections. (a) The regular elections for the President and Vice President of the Philippines shall be held on the second Monday of May, 1992, and on the same day for every period of six (6) years thereafter.
- (b) The regular election of twelve (12) Senators, all Members of the House of Representatives, and the elective provincial, city, and municipal officials shall be held on the second Monday of May, 1995, and on the same day for every period of three (3) years thereafter.
- SEC 5. Election of Provincial, City, and Municipal Members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Sangguniang Panlungsod, and Sangguniang Bayan by Districts. To reduce the number of positions to be voted for, which is one of the problems preventing immediate and full synchronization of elections in May, 1992, for better representation, and to ensure free, orderly, honest and less expensive elections, the elective members of the sangguniang panlalawigan, sangguniang panlungsod, and sangguniang bayan shall be elected by the qualified voters of their respective districts as follows:

Beginning with the 1992 elections: (a) The number of elective councilors or sangguniang panlungsod members in the Metro Manila area, the City of Cebu, City of Davao and any other city with two (2) or more representative districts shall continue to be governed by the provisions of Sections 2 aind 3 of Republic Act No. 6636: Provided, That the Municipalities of Malabon, Navotas, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Taguig shall have twelve (12) councilors, and Pateros, ten (10).

(b) For provinces with two (2) or more representative districts, the number of elective members of the sangguniang panlalawigan shall be equally divided among them: Provided, That, if equal division is not possible, the remaining member or members shall be elected in the district or districts with the greater number of voters or, if they be the same, with the greater number of population.

Beginning with the 1995 elections: (a) For provinces and cities with only one (1) representative district, the Commission on Elections shall divide them into two (2) districts for purposes of provincial or city representation as nearly as may be according to the number of inhabitants, each district comprising a compact, contiguous and adjacent territory, and the number of elective members of their respective sanggunian shall be equally divided between the districts in accordance with the standard or formula provided in the next preceding section.

(b) The Commission on Elections shall apportion the number of elective councilors or