[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 6637, November 21, 1987]

AN ACT AMENDING SECTIONS ONE AND FOUR OF REPUBLIC ACT NUMBERED SIXTY-SIX HUNDRED AND THIRTY-SIX

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The provisions of Section 1 of Republic Act No. 6636 resetting the local elections are hereby amended to read as follows:

"SECTION 1. Election of Local Official.—There shall be elections for provincial governors, provincial vice-governors, city and municipal mayors, city and municipal vice-mayors, and members of each Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Sangguniang Panglungsod, and Sangguniang Bayan, including all members of the city or municipal boards or councils in the Metropolitan Manila area to be held oil Monday, January 18, 1988. Certificates of candidacy for the aforesaid local elective positions shall be filed not later than December 1, 1987. All local officials, whether elected, acting or officer-in-charge, who file or have filed their certificates of candidacy shall be deemed automatically resigned from their positions effective December 1, 1987, any provision of the law to the contrary notwithstanding. If the governor or the city or municipal mayor or the officer-in-charge of that office is a candidate and unless the Secretary of Local Government designates another person, the following local officials shall act as officer-in-charge of the position vacated in a concurrent capacity in the order hereinbelow provided:

- "a) Chief, Senior and Local Government Officers for provinces, cities and municipalities, respectively;
- "b) Provincial/City/Municipal Administrator;
- "c) Provincial/City/Municipal Health Officer.

"In case of vacancies in the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Sangguniang Panglungsod, or Sangguniang Bayan on account of the candidacies of their members, the Secretary of Local Government shall designate acting members thereof from qualified voters in the province, city or municipality to fill such vacancies."

- SEC. 2. Section 4 of Republic Act No. 6636 is hereby amended to read as follows:
 - "SEC. 4. Provinces and other Municipalities.—First and second class provinces shall each have ten (10) elective members for their respective Sangguniang Panlalawigan; third and fourth class provinces, eight (8); and fifth and sixth class provinces, six (6), to be elected at large by the qualified voters therein.