[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5277, June 15, 1968]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF LA UNION, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY AND FIFTY-TWO OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF 1948, AND AUTHORIZING THE APPROPRIATION OF FUNDS FOR THE PURPOSE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The second paragraph of Section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, otherwise known as the Judiciary Act of 1948, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

"Nineteen judges shall be commissioned for the Second Judicial District. Four judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Ilocos Norte; four judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Abra; three judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of the City of Baguio and the Subprovince of Benguet, to be known as judges of the first, second, third branches thereof; three judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of the Mountain Province with jurisdiction covering the whole of Mountain Province except the City of Baguio and the Subprovince of Benguet; judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of La Union and shall be known as the judges of the first, second, third and fourth branches thereof respectively."

SEC. 2. The second subparagraph of the second paragraph of Section fifty-two of the same Act, as amended is further amended to read as follows:

"For the Second Judicial District, three judges shall be stationed in the City of Laoag; one judge shall be stationed in the Municipality of Batac, Province of Ilocos Norte; two judges in the Municipality of Vigan, Province of Ilocos Sur; one judge in the Municipality of Narvacan, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Candon, same province; two judges in the City of Baguio; one judge in the Municipality of La Trinidad, Subprovince of Benguet; one judge in the Municipality of Bontoc, Subprovince of Bontoc; one judge in the Municipality of Kiangan, Subprovince of Ifugao; one judge in the Municipality of Tabuk, Subprovince of Kalinga; one judge in the Municipality of Bangued, Province of Abra; two judges in the Municipality of San Fernando, Province of La Union; one judge in the Municipality of Agoo, same province; and one judge in the Municipality of Balaoan, same province."