[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5239, June 15, 1968]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF ALEGRIA IN THE PROVINCE OF SURIGAO DEL NORTE.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Alegria, Orabong, San Pedro, Alipao and Pungtod and the sitios of Gamotan, Anahao, Camp Eduardo, Budlingin, Lomundo and Manag-as, all in the Municipality of Mainit, Province of Surigao del Norte, are separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality, to be known as the Municipality of Alegria, same province. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of the barrio of Alegria.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Alegria shall acquire corporate existence upon the election and qualification of the first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors in the nineteen hundred sixty-nine elections. For election purposes, the Municipal officials of the mother municipality charged with the election duties in accordance with the Revised Election Code shall hold office until the first officials shall have been elected and qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without Executive approval, June 15, 1968.



Source: Supreme Court E-Library
This page was dynamically generated by the E-Library Content Management System (E-LibCMS)