[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 5140, June 17, 1967]

AN ACT PROVIDING ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF MOUNTAIN PROVINCE, WITH PERMANENT STATION IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF LUNA, MOUNTAIN PROVINCE, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY AND FIFTY-TWO OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF 1948.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The first and second paragraphs of Section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Act of 1948," as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 50. Judges of the First Instance of Judicial Districts.—Ten Judges shall be commissioned for the First Judicial District. Four judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Cagayan and Batanes and shall be known as judges of the first, second, third and fourth branches thereof, respectively, the judge of the second branch to preside also over the Court of First Instance of Batanes; four judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Isabela, and shall be known as the judges of first, second, third and fourth branches thereof; and two judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Nueva Vizcaya, to be known as the judges of the first and second branches thereof.

"Eighteen judges shall be commissioned for the Second Judicial District. Four judges shall preside over the" Court of First Instance of Ilocos Norte; four judges shall preside over the the Court of First Instance of Ilocos Sur; one judge shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Abra; two judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of the City of Baguio and the Subprovince of Benguet; four judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of Mountain Province with jurisdiction covering the whole Mountain Province, except the City of Baguio and the Subprovince of Benguet; three judges shall preside over the Court of First Instance of La Union and shall be known as judges of the first, second, and third branches thereof, respectively."

SEC. 2. The first and second subparagraphs of the second paragraph of Section fiftytwo of the same Act, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

"For the First Judicial District, the judge of the first branch of the Court of First Instance of Cagayan and Batanes shall be stationed in the Municipality of Tuguegarao, Province of Cagayan; the judge of the second branch, in the Municipality of Aparri, same province; the judge of the third branch, in the Municipality of Sanchez Mira, same province; and the