[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4979, June 17, 1967]

AN ACT CREATING THE PROVINCES OF AGUSAN DEL NORTE AND AGUSAN DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The Province of Agusan is hereby divided into two provinces, to be known as Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur.

SEC. 2. The Province of. Agusan del Norte shall consist of the portion of the present Province of Agusan comprising the Municipalities of Carmen, Nasipit, Buenavista, Cabadbaran, Tubay, Jabonga, Kitcharao, and Las Nieves.

SEC. 3. A portion of the present Municipality of Esperanza, described as follows: Beginning at a point on the old Agusan-Misamis Oriental boundary approximately 8° 39' 30" north latitude; thence due east in a straight line until Barrio Maasin; thence, in a straight line N 55° 15' east following the Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur boundary until its intersection with the old Las Nieves-Esperanza boundary approximately 9.80 kilometers away; thence, due north approximately 45° north following the old Las Nieves-Esperanza boundary up to the old boundary of the Municipalities of Buenavista and Esperanza, shall be separated from the said municipality and shall form part of the Municipality of Las Nieves, Province of Agusan del Norte.

SEC. 4. The Province of Agusan del Sur shall consist of the portion of the present Province of Agusan comprising the Municipalities of Bayugan, Esperanza, Prosperidad, San Francisco, Bunawan, Talacogon, La Paz, Loreto, Veruela, and Santa Josefa.

SEC. 5. The capital of Agusan del Norte shall be Butuan City, and that of Agusan del Sur, the Municipality of Prosperidad.

SEC. 6. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to regular provinces shall be applicable to the Provinces of Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur.

SEC. 7. The division of the Province of Agusan, as provided in this Act, shall become effective if the majority ,of, the votes cast by the voters of said province in a plebiscite to be held simultaneously with the election of November, nineteen hundred sixty-seven, under the supervision of the Commission on Elections, favors such division: *Provided*, That should the voters favor such division, the new provinces shall thereafter be organized immediately upon the special elections of the provincial officials and a Member of the House of Representatives for Agusan del Sur, and a Member of the House of Representatives for Agusan del Norte, in the