## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4734, June 18, 1966 ]

## AN ACT CREATING THE SUBPROVINCE OF QUIRINO IN THE PROVINCE OF NUEVA VIZCAYA

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. The Municipalities of Diffun, Saguday, Aglipay and Maddela are hereby constituted into a subprovince of the Province of Nueva Vizcaya, to be known as Sub-province of Quirino.
- SEC. 2. The seat of government of the Subprovince of Quirino shall be either in the Municipality of Saguday or in the Municipality of Diffun: *Provided*, That the Provincial Board shall select the site and may, within one year from the time this Act becomes effective by a vote of two-thirds, transfer it to another municipality or create a new one for this purpose. The seat of government shall be called Cabarroguis.
- SEC. 3. The provisions of Sections twenty-one hundred thirty-seven, twenty-one hundred thirty-eight, twenty-one hundred thirty-nine, twenty-one hundred forty, twenty-one hundred forty-one, twenty-one hundred forty-two and twenty-one hundred forty-three of the Administrative Code, as amended, shall apply to the Subprovince of Quirino.
- SEC. 4. The Subprovince of Quirino shall constitute a separate engineering district and a separate school division. The other provincial offices, namely, Office of the Provincial Treasurer, Office of the Provincial Auditor, Office of the Provincial Agriculturist, Office of the Register of Deeds, Plant and Pest Control Office and the like, when circumstances warrant and upon petition of the lieutenant governor, shall authorize the detail of officials to hold office in the seat of government of the Subprovince of Quirino upon previous approval of the Provincial Governor.
- SEC. 5. The Provincial Board shall fix the compensation of the lieutenant governor and of the other employees and officials of the subprovince.
- SEC. 6. The first lieutenant-governor of the subprovince shall be elected in the general elections of nineteen hundred sixty-seven and qualified thereto. The other sub-provincial officials shall be appointed in accordance with existing laws or regulations.
- SEC. 7. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, June 18, 1966.