[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4821, June 18, 1966]

AN ACT PROVIDING FOR ONE ADDITIONAL JUDGE FOR THE THIRTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT TO PRESIDE OVER THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF SAMAR, WITH PERMANENT STATION IN THE MUNICIPALITY OF BASEY, PROVINCE OF SAMAR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE SECTIONS FIFTY, FIFTY-TWO AND FIFTY-FOUR OF THE JUDICIARY ACT OF 1948.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The thirteenth paragraph of Section fifty of Republic Act Numbered Two hundred ninety-six, otherwise known as "The Judiciary Act of 1948," as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

"Eighteen judges shall be commissioned for the Thirteenth Judicial District. Nine judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Samar and Calbayog City and shall be known as the judges of the first, second, third, fourth, firth, sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth branches thereof, respectively; and nine judges shall preside over the Courts of First Instance of Leyte, Southern Leyte and the cities of Ormoc and Tacloban, and shall be known as Judges of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth branches thereof, respectively."

SEC. 2. The Twelfh subparagraph of the second paragraph of Section fifty-two of the same Act, as amended, is further amended to read as follows:

"For the Thirteenth Judicial District, one judge shall be stationed in the Municipality of Catbalogan, Province of Samar; one judge in the Municipality of Borongan, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Laong, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Catarman, same province; one judge in the City of Calbayog; one judge in the Municipality of Guiuan, Province of Samar; one judge in the Municipality of Allen, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Oras, same province and one judge in the Municipality of Basey, same province; three judges shall be stationed in the City of Tacloban; one judge in the Municipality of Maasin, Province of Southern Leyte; one judge in the City of Ormoc who shall hold court sessions in the Municipality of Palompon at least two months every year; one judge in the Municipality of Carigara, Province of Leyte; one judge in the Municipality of Baybay, same province; one judge in the Municipality of Burauen, same province; and one judge in the municipality of Naval, Subprovince of Biliran."

SEC. 3. The seventh subparagraph of the second paragraph of Section fifty-four of the same Act, as amended, is further amended to read as follows: