[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4849, July 18, 1966]

AN ACT CREATING THE PROVINCE OF SOUTH COTABATO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The municipalities of Norala, Surala, Bañga, Tantangan, Koronadal, Tupi, Polomolok, Kiamba, Maitum, Maasim, Tampacan and Glan and the City of Rajah Buayan (General Santos) are hereby segregated from the Province of Cotabato and constituted into a separate province to he known as South Cotabato. The present Province of Cotabato minus the territory comprising the municipalities abovementioned shall continue to be known as Cotabato.

- SEC. 2. Except as otherwise herein provided, all provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to regularly organized provinces shall be applicable to the Province of South Cotabato.
- SEC. 3. The provincial capital of South Cotabato shall be the Municipality of Koronadal, and the capital building and all other national and provincial offices in the new province shall be established within the government lots thereat. The provincial capital of Cotabato shall hereafter be the Municipality of Pagalungan: *Provided,* That until the necessary buildings needed to house the various offices of the Provincial Government of Cotabato shall have been constructed, the City of Cotabato shall continue to be the capital of the Province of Cotabato.
- SEC. 4. The first provincial governor, vice-governor and members of the Provincial Board of South Cotabato shall be elected in the local elections in nineteen hundred sixty, seven. The officers and employees needed to organize the government personnel of South Cotabato shall be appointed as provided by law.
- SEC. 5. The provinces of Cotabato and South Cotabato shall each have one representative in the House of Representatives. The incumbent Member of the House of Representatives for the present Province of Cotabato shall continue to represent said province until the expiration of his term of office. The Member of the House of Representatives for the Province of South Cotabato shall be elected in a special election which shall be held simultaneously with the local elections in November, nineteen hundred sixty-seven, and the person elected as such member shall hold office until December thirty, nineteen hundred sixty-nine.
- SEC. 6. Upon the effectivity of this Act, the obligations, funds, assets and other properties of the present Province of Cotabato shall be divided proportionately between the Province of Cotabato and the Province of South Cotabato by the President of the Philippines upon the recommendation of the Auditor General.
- SEC. 7. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.