## [ REPUBLIC ACT NO. 4221, June 19, 1965 ]

## AN ACT CREATING THE PROVINCES OF NORTHERN SAMAR, EASTERN SAMAR AND WESTERN SAMAR.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. The Province of Samar is hereby divided into three provinces, to be known as Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, and Western Samar.
- SEC. 2. The Province of Northern Samar shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Samar which is comprised of the municipalities of Allen, Bobon, Capul, Catarman, Catubig, Gamay, Laoang, Lapinig, Las Navas, Lavezares, Mondragon, Palapag, Pambujan, San Antonio, San Isidro, San Jose, and San Roque.
- SEC. 3. The Province of Eastern Samar shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Samar which is comprised of the municipalities of Arteche, Balangiga, Balangkayan, Borongan, Can-avid, Dolores, General Mac-Arthur, Geporlos, Guiuan, Hernani, Jipapad, Lawa-an, Llorente, Maslog, Maydolong, Mercedes, Oras, Quinapundan, Salcedo, San Julian, San Policarpio, Sulat and Taft.
- SEC. 4. The Province of Western Samar shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Samar which is comprised of the municipalities of Basey, Calbiga, Catbalogan, Daram, Gandara, Sta. Margarita, Hinabangan, Jiabong, Marabut, Motiong, Pinacdao, Sta. Rita, Talalora, Tarangan, Villareal, Wright, Zummarraga, Matuginao, San Jose de Buan, San Sebastian, Almagro and Sto. Nino.
- SEC. 5. The capital of Northern Samar shall be Catarman; that of Eastern Samar, Borongan; and that of Western Samar, Catbalogan.
- SEC. 6. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions of law now or hereafter applicable to regular provinces shall be applicable to the Provinces of Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, and Western Samar.
- SEC. 7. The division of the Province of Samar as provided in this Act, shall become effective if a majority of the qualified voters of the said province shall vote in favor of such division in a plebiscite to be held simultaneously with the general elections of November, nineteen hundred and sixty-five, under the supervision of the Commission on Elections: *Provided*, That the new provinces shall thereafter be organized immediately upon the election of their respective first officials in the general elections of November, nineteen hundred and sixty-seven.
- SEC. 8. The present congressional districts are hereby maintained until a reapportionment under the provisions of the Constitution is approved: *Provided,* That the City of Calbayog shall form part of the representative district of the