[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 2786, June 19, 1960]

AN ACT TO CREATE THE PROVINCES OF SURIGAO DEL NORTE AND SURIGAO DEL SUR

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. The Province of Surigao is hereby divided into two provinces, one to be known as Surigao del Norte and the other as Surigao del Sur.
- SEC 2. The Province of Surigao del Norte shall consist of that portion of the present Province of Surigao which comprises the municipalities of Dinagat, Loreto, Dapa, Numancia, General Luna, Pilar, Sapao, Malimono, Anaoaon, Surigao, Placer, Taganaan, Mainit, Tubod, Bacuag, Gigaquit, Claver, Sison, San Isidro, Albor and Cagdianao.
- SEC. 3. The Province of Surigao del Sur shall consist of the other portion of the present Province of Surigao comprising the municipalities of Carrascal, Cantilan, Madrid, Lanuza, Cortez, Tandag, Tago, Cagwait, Hinatuan, Marihatag, Lianga, Bislig and Lingig.
- SEC. 4. The capital of Surigao del Norte shall be Surigao and that of Surigao del Sur shall be Tandag.
- SEC. 5. Except as hereinafter provided, all provisions in law now or hereafter applicable to regular provinces be applicable to the provinces of Surigao del Norte Surigao del Sur.
- SEC. 6. The present elective provincial officers of Surigao shall, until their successors shall have been elected and shall have qualified, perform their respective duties as such officers in either of the two provinces herein created which they shall individually choose within thirty days from the date of the approval of this Act: *Provided*, That they shall continue to receive the salaries they are receiving at the time of the approval of this Act until the new readjustment of salaries in accordance with existing law. Such elective officers as may be necessary to fill vacancies in either of the said provinces shall for the time being be appointed by the President of the Philippines with the consent of the Commission on Appointments and shall hold office until December thirty-one, nineteen hundred sixty-one and/or until their successors shall have been elected and shall have qualified.
- SEC. 7. Special elections shall be held in either or both provinces to fill elective provincial positions which shall be vacated by incumbent provincial elective officials, said special elections to be held simultaneously with the national elections in November, nineteen hundred sixty-one. The Commission on Elections is directed to carry into effect the provisions of this section. Nothing herein contained shall affect the term of office of the incumbent elected provincial officials of Surigao.