[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 2189, May 07, 1959]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF MAITUM, PROVINCE OF COTABATO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Maitum, Upper Maitum, Maguling, Ticulab, Luan, Mindupok, Lanao, Talukao, Kalaong Mabay, Penal, Kalanig, Malalag, Upper Malalag, Kiayap, Sison, Kambojan, Kiambing, Saub, Milbuk, Linao and Takal, Municipality of Kiamba, Province of Cotabato, are separated from said municipality, and are constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Maitum, Province of Cotabato, with the seat of government at the present site of the barrio of Maitum: *Provided*, That the boundary of this new municipality shall be more particularly denned as follows:

"Beginning at a point on the mouth of Malisbong River in the Celebes Sea; thence following its course upstream till it reaches the boundary line of the municipalities of Bañga and Kiamba; thence following the said boundary to a certain point intersected by the line going south, the declared boundary of the Proposed municipality; thence going south to the headwaters of Pañgi River; thence following the Pañgi River downstream to its mouth in the Celebes Sea; thence following the coastline north-westward of the Celebes Sea to the mouth of Malisbong River, the point of beginning."

SEC. 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor and councilors of the new municipality shall be appointed by the President, subject to the confirmation of the Commission on Appointments, and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the next general elections for local officials and shall have qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without executive approval, May 7, 1959.



