[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 2509, June 21, 1959]

AN ACT CREATING THE MUNICIPALITY OF AMPATUAN, PROVINCE OF COTABATO

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. The barrios of Decaluñgan, Esperanza, Kauran, Manibba (Banaba), Matiompong, Kalandagan, Kaya-kaya, Upper Mao, Lower Mao, Guimbon, Makaubas, Buluan, Kamasi, Sampao, Upper Kakal, Lower Kakal, Tuka, Maganoy, Kaliawa, Malatimon, Kapimpilan, Laguin-ding and Timbangan, Municipality of Datu Piang, Province of Cotabato, are separated from said municipality, and are constituted into a district and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Ampatuan, Province of Cotabato, with the seat of government at the present site of the barrio of Decalungan, and the boundary of this new municipality shall be more definitely denned as follows:

"Beginning at Cabuban Bridge, on the Cotabato-Dalican-Allah Road, going due west to a point on the boundary line of the municipalities of Dinaig and Upi; thence going on a southwesterly direction following the boundary line of Dinaig and Upi to a point where the boundary lines of the municipalities of Lebak, Upi, Datu Piang and Dinaig meet; thence going on a southeasterly direction following the boundary line of the municipalities of Lebak and Datu Piang to a point where the boundary lines of the municipalities of Lebak, Datu Piang and Isulan meet; thence going due east following the boundary line of the municipalities of Datu Piang- and Isulan to Allah Bridge, on the Cotabato-Dalican-Allah Road; thence going on a northeasterly direction following the course of the Allah River downstream to the junction of the Allah and Kapingkong Rivers, thence going on a northwesterly direction following the Allah River downstream to the junction of the Allah and Cabulnan Rivers; thence going on a southwesterly direction following the course of the CabuJnan River upstream to Cabulnan Bridge on the Cotabato-Dalican-Allah Road, the point of beginning."

SEC. 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor, and councilors of the new municipality shall be appointed by the President, with the consent of the Commission on Appointments, and shall hold office until their successors shall have been elected in the next general elections for local officials and shall have qualified.

SEC. 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Enacted without executive approval, June 21, 1959.