[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 23, November 10, 2011]

CREATING A STEERING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL OBSERVANCES

WHEREAS, Article XIV, Section 16 of the 1987 Constitution provides that "all the country's artistic and historic wealth constitutes the cultural treasure of the nation and shall be under the protection of the State which may regulate its disposition;"

WHEREAS, memories of historic events that shaped the nation constitute the soul of a people, giving meaning to their collective life and aspirations;

WHEREAS, Republic Act (R.A.) No. 10086 mandates the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) to determine all factual matters relating to official Philippine history as well as develop and implement educational materials in various media for the popularization of Philippine history;

WHEREAS, every year the NHCP initiates, through separate presidential issuances, the organization and implementation by different inter-agency committees of national observances to celebrate important events and honor key historic figures;

WHEREAS, a single directive creating a permanent planning committee will facilitate the necessary preparation and implementation, and dispense with repetitive presidential orders year to year; and

WHEREAS, the Revised Administrative Code of 1987 empowers the President of the Philippines with the continuing authority to reorganize the Executive Department.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, BENIGNO S. AQUINO III, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. Creation of the Committee. A Steering Committee on National Observances shall be established to plan, organize, and undertake the commemoration of selected historical events.

SECTION 2. Composition. The Committee shall be chaired by the Chairperson of the NHCP and composed of officers from the following department or agencies with a rank not lower than Assistant Secretary, duly authorized to represent their respective Secretaries:

a. Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG);

- b. Department of Education (DepEd); and
- c. Department of Tourism (DOT).