[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 148, April 22, 2006]

RECONSTITUTING THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NEDA BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 4 of Executive Order No. 230, dated 22 July 1987, reorganizing the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), authorizes the President of the Philippines to revise the members of the NEDA Board whenever the same is deemed necessary for the effective performance of the Board's functions, through an Administrative or a Memorandum Order;

WHEREAS, Republic Act 7653 or the New Central Bank Act, provides that the Deputy Governor designated by the Governor of the Bangko Sentral shall be an exofficio member of the NEDA Board;

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 207, s. of 2003, provides for the representation of the Governor of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao in the NEDA Boards;

WHEREAS, Administrative Order No. 104, s. of 2004, provides for the creation of three Cabinet Groups (NEDA Cabinet Group, National Security Council Cabinet Group and National Anti-Poverty Commission Cabinet Group) for the effective and efficient discussion and implementation of the President's 10-Point Agenda;

WHEREAS, there is a need to conserve the executive time of Cabinet Secretaries by not requiring them to attend more meetings than necessary;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA M. ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1: Reconstitution of the NEDA Board. The NEDA Board membership is hereby reconstituted to include members of the NEDA Cabinet Group, as well as representatives from the local government units as follows:

The President as Chairperson

Director-General, National Economic and Development Authority as Vice-

Chairperson

Secretary, Department of Agriculture

Secretary, Department of Budget and Management

Secretary, Department of Energy

Secretary, Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Secretary, Department of Finance

Secretary, Department of Public Works and Highways

Secretary, Department of Science and Technology

Secretary, Department of Tourism

Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry

Secretary, Department of Transportation and Communications