[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 342, June 25, 1997]

CREATION OF A MALACAÑANG HISTORICAL COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the Malacañang, which was acquired in 1825 by then Spanish Governor-General Juan Antonio Martinez to serve as summer residence of Spanish Governor Generals and since 1863, has become the official residence of the highest official of the land and the official venue for all state functions and events;

WHEREAS, the Malacañang, considered one of the most important historical treasures of the country, has also been the site of many socio-political landmark events in our history as a people;

WHEREAS, there is need to produce a comprehensive multi-media documentary on the rich historical heritage of Malacañang, showcasing significant events that transpired therein and featuring the people who occupied and visited it as well; and,

WHEREAS, the production of a documentary material on Malacañang requires collaborative efforts and close coordination among concerned agencies.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order the following:

SECTION 1. <u>Creation of a Malacañang Historical Committee</u>. There is hereby created a Malacañang Historical Committee (hereinafter referred to as the "Committee") which shall be an ad-hoc body tasked to plan, conduct research and supervise the production of a multi-media (print, video and CD-ROM) historical documentary on the Malacañang Palace.

- **SEC. 2.** <u>Composition of the Committee</u>. The Committee shall be composed of Secretary Alexander P. Aguirre, Head, Presidential Management Staff as Chairman, Press Secretary Hector R.R. Villanueva, as Co-Chairman, Appointments Secretary Apolinario L. Lozada, Jr. as Vice-Chairman, and the following as members:
 - a. Presidential Protocol Chief Marciano A. Paynor, Jr.;
 - b. Presidential Assistant Lolita R. Haney, Internal House Affairs;
 - c. Brig. General Jose M. Calimlim, Commanding General, Presidential Security Group;
 - d. Executive Director Gloria P. Mara, Radio Television Malacañang;
 - e. Director Teresita B. Paynor, Internal House Affairs Palace;
 - f. Director Adoracion M. Bolos, National Library;
 - g. Director Ricardo L. Manapat, Records Management and Archives Office;
 - h. OIC Director Emelita V. Almosara, National Historical Institute;
 - i. Director Ma. Edna S. Gaffud, Malacañang Heritage Foundation;
 - j. General Manager Ramy Diez, People's Television Network;