[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 211, August 15, 1995]

CONSTITUTING A NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMEMORATION OF THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE SURRENDER OF GENERAL TOMOYUKI YAMASHITA ON SEPTEMBER 2, 1995, IN KIANGAN, IFUGAO, AND HIS OFFICIAL SURRENDER ON SEPTEMBER 3, 1995, IN BAGUIO CITY

WHEREAS, September 2, 1995 marks the 50th Anniversary of the Surrender of General Tomoyuki Yamashita of the Japanese Imperial Army in Kiangan, Ifugao, and September 3, 1995, the 50th Anniversary of his Official Surrender in Baguio City which signalled the end of Japanese resistance in the Philippines during World War II;

WHEREAS, these events should be appropriately observed to promote, preserve and memorialize the principles, ideals and deeds of Filipino military veterans as a means of enhancing patriotism and love of country, especially among the youth of the land;

WHEREAS, the commemoration of these events should be focused on the values of freedom and lasting peace for which Filipino war veterans fought valiantly, many of whom paid the ultimate sacrifice;

WHEREAS, there is a need to coordinate all activities that are envisioned to foster nationalism among Filipinos, particularly with that of the National Centennial Commission, which was created pursuant to EO 128, dated October 4, 1993, to act as the principal coordinator for all activities related to the Centennial Celebrations of Philippine Independence.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. *Creation of a National Executive Committee.* There is hereby constituted a National Executive Committee on the Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the Official Surrender of General Tomoyuki Yamashita hereinafter referred to as the Committee, to be composed of the following:

- (1) The Secretary of National Defense, as Chairman
- (2) The Secretary of Tourism, as Vice-Chairman
- (3) The Secretary of Foreign Affairs;
- (4) The Secretary of Education, Culture and Sports;
- (5) The Secretary of the Interior and Local Government;
- (6) The Secretary of Transportation and Communications;
- (7) The Secretary of Public Works and Highways;
- (8) The Secretary of Budget and Management;
- (9) The Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources;
- (10) The Secretary of Finance;