[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 168, December 08, 1994]

CONSTITUTING A NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE COMMEMORATION OF THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE LANDING IN NASUGBU, BATANGAS, ON 31 JANUARY 1995 AND LIBERATION OF TAGAYTAY, CAVITE, ON 2 FEBRUARY 1995

WHEREAS, January 31, 1995, marks the 50th Anniversary of the Landing in Nasugbu, Batangas, and February 2, 1995 Liberation of Tagaytay, Cavite, which were part of the effort to liberate the Philippines from the Japanese occupation during the World War II;

WHEREAS, this event should be appropriately observed to promote, preserve and memorialize the principles, ideals and deeds of Filipino military veterans as a means of enhancing patriotism and love of country, especially among the youth of the land;

WHEREAS, the commemoration of this event should be focused on the values of freedom and lasting peace for which Filipino war veterans fought valiantly, many of whom paid the ultimate sacrifice;

WHEREAS, there is a need to coordinate all activities that are envisioned to foster nationalism among Filipinos, particularly with that of the National Centennial Commission, which was created pursuant to E.O. 128, dated October 4, 1993, to act as the principal coordinator for all activities related to the Centennial Celebrations of the Philippine Independence.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

SECTION 1. <u>Creation of a National Executive Committee</u>. There is hereby constituted a National Executive Committee on the Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the Landing in Nasugbu, Batangas, and the Liberation of Tagaytay, Cavite, hereinafter referred to as the Committee, to be composed of the following:

- (1) The Secretary of National Defense, as Chairman
- (2) The Secretary of Tourism, as Vice-Chairman
- (3) The Secretary of Foreign Affairs;
- (4) The Secretary of Education, Culture and Sports;
- (5) The Secretary of Interior and Local Government;
- (6) The Secretary of Transportation and Communications;
- (7) The Secretary of Public Works and Highways;
- (8) The Secretary of Budget and Management;
- (9) The Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources;
- (10) The Secretary of Finance;
- (11) Press Secretary;
- (12) Chief of Staff, Armed Forces of the Philippines;
- (13) Chief, Philippine National Police;