## [ ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 77, August 18, 1993 ]

## CREATING A PHILIPPINE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR THE PHILIPPINE FESTIVAL OF ARTS AND CULTURE IN FRANCE AND OTHER COUNTRIES OF EUROPE IN 1994 REVOLVING AROUND THE SPECIAL EXPOSITION IN PARIS OF THE TREASURES FOUND IN THE "SAN DIEGO" GALLEON

WHEREAS, the Philippine Government, in its desire to develop significant awareness of the Philippines and its people among the French people in particular and the European public in general, has decided to organize a roving festival of Philippine culture and performing arts in France as well as other major cities in Europe, from September to December 1994, under the theme "Philippine Culture Through the Ages";

WHEREAS, both the Philippine and French Governments are committed to promoting mutual understanding through the intensification of cultural relations, among others, between the two countries;

WHEREAS, the "San Diego" Exposition, a major joint project in the cultural field, will also offer a unique opportunity for attracting prospective investors, businessmen and tourists from France and other European countries;

WHEREAS, the forthcoming exposition, which will be called the Philippine Festival of Arts and Culture, is a joint RP-FRANCE undertaking under the 1993-1994 RP-FRANCE Protocol on Culture, Scientific and Technical Cooperation;

NOW, THEREFORE, be it known that I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the Constitution, do hereby create the Philippine National Commission for the Philippine Festival of Arts and Culture in France and in other countries of Europe revolving around the special exposition of the treasures found in the "San Diego" Galleon, hereinafter known as the Commission. The Honorary Chairman of the Commission shall be the First Lady Mrs. Amelita Ramos with the Secretary of Foreign Affairs as Chairman and Mr. Sostenes Campillo, Jr., former Undersecretary of Tourism, as the Secretary-General of the Commission. The members of the Commission shall be:

- 1. The Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry
- 2. The Secretary, Department of Tourism
- 3. The Secretary, Department of Finance
- 4. The Secretary, Department of Budget and Management
- 5. The Secretary, Department of Education and Culture
- 6. The Director, National Museum
- 7. The President, Cultural Center of the Philippines
- 8. Two representatives from the Office of the President (proper)
- 9. The Chairman, National Commission on Culture and Arts