[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 26, December 29, 1992]

CREATING A PHILIPPINE HOST COMMITTEE FOR ASEAN TOURISM FORUM 1993

WHEREAS, the six member nations of ASEAN, namely Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand, have agreed on a cooperative effort to promote the ASEAN region as one tourist destination;

WHEREAS, a regional travel trade event provides an invaluable occasion for travel industry practitioners from both the public and private sectors of ASEAN to meet and discuss strategies aimed at the growth and enhancement of tourism in the region;

WHEREAS, a series of meetings of the ASEAN national tourism organizations (NTOs) and the sectoral associations of the private sector led to a region-wide agreement to hold annually the ASEAN Tourism Forum consisting of multi-sectoral meetings and dialogues, an industry-wide conference and a travel mart between ASEAN sellers and worldwide buyers;

WHEREAS, the annual hosting of the ASEAN Tourism Forum is alphabetically rotated among the member countries;

WHEREAS, 1993 marks the twelfth year of this event since its inauguration in Malaysia in 1981 and the third time the Philippines serve as the host country;

WHEREAS, the successful conduct of ATF '93 will contribute positively to the projection of the Philippines as a competitive tourist destination for leisure, business, meetings and exhibitions and enable more substantial economic benefits to the Philippines;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, FIDEL V. RAMOS, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. A Philippine Host Committee for ASEAN Tourism Forum 1993, hereinafter referred to as the Committee, is hereby created to undertake the preparations and implementation of the Philippines hosting of the forum.

The Committee shall be composed of the following:

Secretary of Tourism – Chairman

The Department of Tourism Undersecretaries, the Philippine Tourism Authority General Manager and the Duty Free Philippines General

Manager – Vice Chairmen

Chairmen of the Working Groups as – Members