[ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 73, May 19, 1988]

CREATING A PHILIPPINE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR PHILIPPINE PARTICIPATION IN EXPOSITION/ACTIVITIES IN COMMEMORATING THE FIFTH CENTENNIAL OF THE DISCOVERY OF AMERICA

WHEREAS, the Spanish Government, attaching great significance to the Fifth Centennial of the Discovery of America, has decided to commemorate that occasion by holding, among other activities, a Universal Exposition in Sevilla, Spain, from 20 April to 12 October 1992, whose theme will be the "Age of Discovery";

WHEREAS, the Spanish Government, desiring to use this occasion to promote closer integration among IberoAmerican countries, has invited the Philippines to participate in the Sevilla Exposition;

WHEREAS, the Philippines acknowledges the historic value of the IberoAmerican influence on its national heritage and in the formation of its concept of nationhood, making it one of the first democratic countries in Asia;

WHEREAS, the Philippines would like to participate in the eventual formation of an IberoAmerican Community of Nations that is firmly established on the foundations of liberty, justice and peace and dedicated to the creation of a quality of international life based on political and economic cooperation with other centers of powers;

WHEREAS, the Philippines has accepted the invitation of the Spanish Government to participate in the Universal Exposition in Sevilla; and

WHEREAS, the Philippines would like to ensure that the quality of its participation truly reflects the IberoAmerican influence in its culture, making it a proud member of that Community.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, CORAZON C. AQUINO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by the law, do hereby create the Philippine National Commission for Philippine Participation in Exposition/Activities in Commemoration of the Fifth Centennial of the Discovery of America, hereinafter known as the Commission. The Chairman of the Commission shall be the Secretary of Foreign Affairs with the Secretary of Education, Culture and Sports and the Secretary of Trade and Industry as Vice-Chairmen. The members of the Commission shall be:

- 1. Department of Tourism
- 2. National Economic and Development Authority
- 3. Department of Science and Technology
- 4. Department of Justice
- 5. National Museum