[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 777, January 19, 2009]

CREATING A NATIONAL PREPARATORY COMMITTEE FOR THE AMENDMENT OF REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9054

WHEREAS, Republic Act No. 9054 (RA 9054) was passed, creating the expanded Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) as provided under Article X, Section 15 of the 1987 Constitution, and paving the way for the implementation of the second phase of the 1996 Final Peace Agreement between the Government of the Philippines and the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF);

WHEREAS, there is a need to amend RA 9054 to achieve full autonomy in cognizance of the Filipino Muslims' aspirations for self-determination;

WHEREAS, the amendments to RA 9054 shall be determined with the participation of all stakeholders through authentic dialogues and consultation to ensure that the output is truly reflective of the aspirations of Filipino Muslims;

WHEREAS, the consultative process toward the amendment of RA 9054 will require a mechanism composed of credible representatives from various stakeholders who shall be primarily responsible in capturing the interest of Muslim Filipinos within the constitutional framework;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested upon me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. *Creation and Mandate.* There is hereby created a National Preparatory Committee (PrepCom) for the Amendment of RA 9054 with the following functions:

- a. Formulate and recommend to the President, within six (6) months from the issuance of this Executive Order, a package of amendments to RA 9054 that will serve as basis for the crafting of a new Organic Act that is reflective of the Moro interest;
- b. Conduct dialogues and consultations with various stakeholders to solicit their views and recommendations on the proposed amendments to the existing Organic Act;
- c. Perform other functions that are necessary in the performance of its mandate.

Section 2. *Composition.* The National PrepCom shall be composed of a Chairperson and fourteen (14) members as follows:

- a. One (1) representative of the ARMM Regional Government
- b. One (1) representative of Lanao del Sur
- c. One (1) representative of Maguindanao
- d. One (1) representative of Sulu
- e. One (1) representative of Basilan
- f. One (1) representative of Tawi-Tawi