[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 750, September 08, 2008]

CREATING THE SORSOGON BAY REHABILITATION AND DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

WHEREAS, Section 33 of the Local Government Code encourages and provides the means for cooperative undertakings among Local Government Units;

WHEREAS, Sorsogon Bay is plagued by Red Tide;

WHEREAS, concerted action is needed to mitigate the effect of Red Tide not only by the local government units along the bay, but also by the national government agencies;

WHEREAS, to enable the government to translate into reality this thrust, the local government units (LGUs) of Magallanes, Casiguran, Juban, Sorsogon, Castilla and Pilar together with the communities must unify their efforts consistent with the principles of sustainable development and people empowerment;

WHEREAS, there is a need to create a body that shall provide the unity of efforts to formulate policies, mechanisms and strategies that will address the issues in Sorsogon Bay, while at the same time not usurping the implementation functions of the agencies and LGUs mandated by law to implement such policies, mechanisms and strategies;

WHEREAS, there is a need for strong collaboration between and among the concerned agencies and LGUS for the integrated management, protection, development and conservation of Sorsogon Bay,

WHEREAS, the Mayors of Sorsogon City, Castilla, Casiguran, Magallanes, Pilar, and Juban on 24 July 2008 endorsed to the Office of the President the creation of the Sorsogon Bay and Development Council;

NOW THEREFORE I, GLORIA M. ARROYO, President of the Philippines, by the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order:

Section 1. There is hereby created under the Department of Agriculture the Sorsogon Bay Rehabilitation and Development Policy Council, hereinafter referred to as the "Council," composed of the following:

A designated Undersecretary from the Department of Agriculture (DA) as Chairman, and designated Assistant Secretary from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) as Vice-Chairman, the Presidential Assistant for Region V, The Region V Director of the Department of Interior and Local Government, the Governor of Sorsogon Province, the Mayors of the City of Sorsogon and the