[EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 616, April 03, 2007]

CREATION OF THE ANTI-HUNGER TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the latest quarterly survey on hunger conducted by the Social Weather Stations reported that 19% or 3.3 million families suffer from involuntary hunger;

WHEREAS, the Accelerated Hunger-Mitigation Program is the landmark program of the Arroyo Government to address hunger both on the aspect of supply or the unavailability or insufficiency of food and on the aspect of demand or the inability to buy food;

WHEREAS, the National Nutrition Council, by virtue of Executive Order 472, was tasked to ensure a client-based operations and to undertake necessary steps to prioritize addressing hunger and malnutrition;

WHEREAS, the National Nutrition Council, by virtue of the Memorandum from the President dated 06 July 2006, was directed to oversee the implementation of the Accelerated Hunger-Mitigation Program as formulated by the National Economic and Development Authority to cut hunger incidence by half in one (1) year;

WHEREAS, the Accelerated Hunger-Mitigation Program is implemented by national government agencies based on hunger-mitigation program framework;

WHEREAS, in view of the current hunger situation, it is imperative to further accelerate actions to mitigate hunger in six (6) months;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, President of the Republic of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law do hereby order the following:

SECTION 1. Creation of the Anti-Hunger Task Force.

The Anti-Hunger Task Force is hereby created composed of national government agencies implementing the component programs of the Accelerated Hunger-Mitigation Program (AHMP). The Task Force will closely work with faith-based organizations to widen the reach of the program among the poor and hungry households in the National Capital Region and the identified priority provinces of the country.

SEC. 2. Composition.

2.1 The Anti-Hunger Task Force shall be composed of the following agencies:

Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR)
Presidential Agrarian Reform Council (PARC-DAR)
Department of Agriculture (DA)
Bureau of Animal Industry (BAI)
Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR-DA)