## [ EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 245, May 15, 2000 ]

## AMENDING EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 7 (s. 1998)

**WHEREAS**, Executive Order No. 7 (s. 1998) created the PARECO System in order to allow greater coordination and more efficient administration;

**WHEREAS**, there is a need to rationalize the operations of the PARECO System to enhance its coherence and responsiveness to the development objectives of the government;

**NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOSEPH EJERCITO ESTRADA,** President of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in me, do hereby amend Executive Order No. 7 (s. 1998), as follows:

**SECTION 1.** Sections 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 8 are hereby amended to read as follows:

"Section 1. **Creation** - There is hereby created the Presidential Assistant for Regional Concerns (PARECO) System. For this purpose, a Presidential Assistant (PA) shall be appointed, as the representative of the Office of the President, in the following areas:

- Northern Luzon The provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Viscaya, Quirino, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, and the cities of Laoag, San Fernando, Dagupan, San Carlos, Urdaneta, Santiago, Cabanatuan, Palayan, San Jose, Angeles, and Olongapo.
- 2. **South Luzon** The provinces of Aurora, Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon, Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, Sorsogon, and the cities of Batangas, Lipa, San Pablo, Lucena, Puerto Prinsesa, Legaspi, Iriga, and Naga.
- 3. **Eastern Visayas** The provinces of Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Southern Leyte and the cities of Ormoc, Tacloban, and Calbayog.
- 4. **Central Visayas** The provinces of Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, and the cities of Tagbilaran, Cebu, Danao, Lapu-lapu, Mandaue, Toledo, Bais, Canlaon, and Dumaguete.

- Western Visayas The provinces of Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Guimaras, and the cities of Roxas, Iloilo, Passi, Bacolod, Bago, Victorias, Cadiz, La Carlota, San Carlos, Silay, Sagay, Kabankalan, and Talisay.
- North Mindanao The province of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Oriental, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, and the cities of Butuan, Cagayan de Oro, Gingoog, Surigao, Malaybalay, Marawi, and Iligan.
- 7. **West Mindanao** The provinces of Basilan, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, and the cities of Dapitan, Dipolog, Oroqueta, Ozamis, Pagadian, Tangub, and Zamboanga.
- 8. **South Mindanao** The provinces of Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, South Cotabato, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Compostella Valley, Saranggani, and the cities of Cotabato, General Santos, Davao, Kidapawan, Tagum, and Samal.

The regional governor of the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), the Executive Director of the Cordillera Executive Board (CEB) and the Chairman of the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) shall continue to serve as liaison of the Office of the President in their respective areas consistent with their mandate, as provided by law."

- "Sec. 3. **Functions, Powers and Responsibilities of the PARECOs.** The PARECOs shall have the following functions powers and responsibilities:
  - 1. Monitor the planning and implementation of critical development programs and projects in their areas of responsibility. They shall anticipate, and where necessary, step in to resolve problems which may arise in the planning or implementation of critical development programs and projects. They may call upon government agencies, and coordinate with local government units (LGUs) to undertake actions deemed necessary to attain the development objectives of the area;
  - 2. <u>Provide assistance especially on matters requiring the preferential attention of the Office of the President (OP) and of other national government agencies;</u>
  - 3. Report regularly to the Office of the President on the status of development programs and projects, and recommend courses of action that the national government may take to facilitate development efforts in